We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like staying with really good friends”
Review of Mariners Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariners Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed in Mariner's Lodge for one night. Caroline and Rollo could not have done more to make me feel welcome. Caroline is a wonderful inventive cook and uses locally sourced produce where ever possible - we even had a home made bread making lesson. There are lovely walks by the estuary and up the hills behind with magical wild gardens and the Moor above. The bedrooms are comfortable and homely with lovely views and the private sitting room is really cosy. It is a home from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful and all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aphroditelondon_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Very helpful even before we got there and couldnt do enough for us when we were. Great views from the room & conservatory (breakfast room). Rooms good with loads of pictures/antiques to look at, especially if raining. Minor downside, bathroom not en suite but that said you felt like you were sharing a house rather than a hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Warm and friendly hosts offer excellent rooms with superb views. Attention to details was excellent and the food was absolutely superb. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justlittle0ldME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in Mariner's lodge for 2 nights and we had a great time. The view from the bedroom and the conservatory (diner room) was beautiful. Caroline was very nice to us and had good advise for the place to visit around. And the food (breakfast and diner) was very good (well cooked and fresh product).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nounoursetchocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We found this B&B through the warm recommendation of friends and we were delighted. It was in our experience the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. Lovely, beautifully furnished rooms, an extremely comfortable bed, great bathroom with separate bath and shower, a beautiful view over the estuary, excellent food and a very warm welcome by Caroline. Caroline is a Cordon Bleu chef and her food is outstanding.

Room Tip: Both rooms are of equal quality and both look out over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We picked this B&B through a minute ad in RSPB Bird magazine and hit gold! Living in London, we wanted a walking break in Exmoor National Park.

We arrived after a long drive to a really friendly welcome from Caroline, the owner, and a delicious tea, including chunks of her homemade sticky lemon cake still warm from the oven!

The view from our room was unbelievable as there is nothing but fields and a garden between the house and the sea. I felt I could have spent hours watching the light change over the marshes - absolutely beautiful! With such a comfortable bed & pillows we slept like babies and woke with excitement to see the view again in the morning.

We were worried about the private bathroom as we normally go for ‘en suite’, but it was literally only one step from our room and spacious, with really fluffy towels.

We had decided to eat in on our first evening. Caroline had taken care to cater for my partner’s food requirements. She managed to produce an exciting, very tasty menu, despite restricted ingredients. In fact, it was so good; we ate in again on our last night too.

Breakfast in the conservatory was also excellent. My full English was made with local ingredients and the scrambled farm eggs were rich, yellow & perfectly cooked. My partner had Continental, with special stewed fruit and really thick yoghurt; he then pigged out on Caroline’s freshly baked homemade bread and delicious marmalade.

Fuelled up, we had an idea of where to walk, but it was very windy, so Caroline sent us on the most delightful walk in a sheltered valley that we would never have found without her infectious love and knowledge of Exmoor. After a busy day we would return to the house and have tea in the morning room in front of a roaring fire checking out the birds that we had spied during the day.

Our few days at Mariners Lodge felt like a week! We returned to London feeling so relaxed and well fed. We couldn’t recommend this B&B more highly. If you are looking for delicious food, helpful owners and a view to die for then this is the place to come! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a find this was.After attending a wedding at St Audreys, we decided to explore around the coast a little. We had booked at Mariner's Lodge not knowing anything about the place [apart from the website] The surrounding area is quite lovely; interesting scenery and a great drive down to Porlock Weir via a private road from Exmoor [suggested by Caroline, our host].
Mariner's Lodge itself is situated back from the shoreline of Porlock Bay and gives a spectacular ever changing vista from the dining/sunroom. We were welcomed by the charming Caroline & her gorgeous dogs, a pot of tea and homemade lemon cake! Our upstairs room was divinely 'English Country',comfortable, cosy & serene; 2 windows [views from different angles],an armchair & tea tray. The spacious bathroom is not attached, but next door to the room, which, in our opinion was a far nicer idea than a pokey little ensuite in a cramped bedroom. On Caroline's recommendation, we had dinner at one of the local hotels in Porlock Weir, then shared an evening nightcap and a spirited chat with Caroline and Rollo. After a fabulous night's sleep [the bed, pillows & linen were sublime!] we were treated to a beautiful breakfast feast served on exquisite china; once again surrounded by obviously family treasures in the very eclectic sunroom.One of the nicest typically English gentry experiences I have ever had; a delightful, gracious and entertaining couple whom we will stay with again; for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minervaFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Lodge

Address: West Porlock, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mariners Lodge Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing