We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views & Well kept site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porlock Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Views & Well kept site”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been here a few times now.

The Location is really good. Brilliant views of Porlock Hill & Bossington Hill.

The campsite facilities are excellent. Brilliant showers & washrooms & always sparkling clean!

Room Tip: Excellent site if you are into coastal paths & like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I-Ziggy-Zumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just stayed in my campervan over the Jubilee weekend. The site & facilities are immaculate and it's very peaceful. Good location for local faciliuies and I found the staff very helpful. It is possible that someone got a printing & laminating kit as a present and went a bit mad as there are notices just about everywhere and heaven help you if you don't park exactly where you are told! Negatives are that there are only 3 showers in the ladies so visit early if you don't want to queue. They also charge extra for things like Wi-Fi, hairdryer and use of microwave in the excellent washing up area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We've stayed here a few times over the years both in static homes and in a tent. It's a small site - statics around the outside, most privately owned, and tents and motorhomes in the middle. There is also a large field for campers. It's flat, sheltered and has stunning views to the top of Porlock Hill and down to Porlock Weir.

Shower and toilet facilities are spotless but not sufficient when the rally field is full. Temporary loos are then put in the field and there's a long hike to the showers.

Large tents are only allowed in the rally field during August (!) and I believe you are charged for a double pitch.

Everywhere you go on this site there are laminated notices telling you that this isn't permitted and that isn't allowed. It's not terribly welcoming.

The site is very well maintained.

The site's location is its redeeming point. It's on the edge of the village. We have parked here and only used the car once to go to Lynmouth ten miles away ('Little Switzerland'). Porlock is a great base for exploring Exmoor and there are some great walks starting from the site. Don't miss the picturesque Ship Inn at the bottom of Porlock Hill which does great food. Don't bother with The Castle. The Royal Oak is ok. There are a few tea shops and cafes around.

Porlock Camping and Caravan site is not really a site for children. There is no play area and there is not a lot of space unless you go out of season. There is a large park in the village a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exmoorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We've stayed here since the mid eighties and have always loved the place.

The location is still great and the camp site is still clean tidy and well maintained, but the price is no longer reasonable; at least to us - we were charged an additional £15 per night each for our children's pup tents!

Add a curt manageress and it's little wonder then that the place was almost empty whilst Burrowhayes down the road was booked out.

After 25 years of visits, we won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChadwickGFHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
19.4 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porlock Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porlock Caravan Park

Property: Porlock Caravan Park
Address: High Bank, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Porlock Caravan Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porlock Caravan Park is a pretty, quiet family run, 5 star site, within the quaint old enchanting village of Porlock with its characteristic pubs, shops and restaurants. Local amenities include a tourist information centre, recreation ground and pony trekking. An ideal location for those wanting a relaxing break in a rural village setting. The park offers award winning amenities and a warm and friendly welcome to all. Tents, tourers and motorhomes catered for with spotless facilities including free hot showers, baby changing facilities, laundry room with drying area. Level grass and hardstanding pitches available. Separate field for rallies. Luxury, central heated holiday homes also available for hire. Our unique David Bellamy garden has an abundance of wild flowers, birds and wildlife with ample seating to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the stunning sunsets over the Bristol Channel and Porlock Bay. Porlock Bay is in the heart of the Exmoor National Park surrounded by spectacular coastal scenery, breathtaking moors and wooded valleys where you can see the Exmoor ponies and red deer. Dunster, the medieval market town, Lynmouth and Lynton with its vehicular railway are some of many local attractions certainly worth a visit or just leave your car behind and explore this walker’s paradise. Privately owned static caravans for sale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porlock Caravan Park Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing