We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porlock Caravan and Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porlock Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bedworth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Considering this was my first time caravaning this site was perfect, really friendly welcome the site is clean and tidy and well set out and the shower and toilet facilities are first class and spotless. Definitely a 10/ 10 compared compared to the site i visited in Symods Yat on the way home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    7
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very good impression of site on arrival but beware pitch size is very rigorously adhered to and they are very small for a medium sized family tent. The welcome was soured by the feeling that you should not book for a larger tent as all your equipment including guy ropes "MUST" be within the 4 white bricks on each corner of the small pitch (I had booked a longer pitch and cannot think what the smaller pitch size must be !) I did try to book the right size pitch but how many of us really know the exact size of your tent & equipment including guy ropes. It left us feeling very cramped.
Immaculate site on first glance - as others said - "grass cut every day" - i.e. grass cut around you and your tent when you are trying to relax. "Facilities cleaned immaculately" - i.e. - Very unfriendly cleaner constantly mopping around you without even a "Hello" when you spoke to her. We were shocked, on the 2nd night to find a large quantity of cockroaches on the floor of the ladies toilets (8 or 9 counted before I retreated without being able to use the toilet). Less cockroaches on the 3rd night as the door had been shut (only 2).
Wi-Fi cost £10 for 3 days and on arriving back at the site at approx. 6pm every evening it was totally impossible to get connected - the message given on the website stated that there were too many users. We queried this on the 2nd day and were told the problem was fixed - it was not fixed whilst we were there and we had two very unhappy teenagers.
Teenagers in a caravan (with family) were told that if they were under 16 they were not allowed to use the toilet / shower facilities on their own ! maybe this is how they keep everything so clean !
The campsite is beautifully quiet but this is enforced to such an extent that there was none of the usual "happy camper" atmosphere that makes a break so good.
Immaculate - yes, Clean - yes, Great location - yes, would we go back - no
P.S. - Had to laugh we went into Porlock for a recommended Fish & Chip shop and on asking for 2 portions of chips were asked if we had ordered in advance !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_on_Tour_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We were disappointed to read your review and sorry that you feel your pitch was not big enough for your tent. We do state clearly on our website and literature that due to spacing restrictions we are not able to accommodate large tents on our top field (up to 5m x 4m). Unfortunately the onus is on the tent owner to know the size of their own tent. In fact the grading inspectors for Visit Britain and the AA have commented that our pitch sizes are generous!

The bugs you saw in the utility blocks were the Cockchafer Beetle (commonly known as the May bug) and not cockroaches. Unfortunately they appear in May and are attracted by the lights in the blocks during the night. They are short lived fortunately and unlike the cockroach they can fly which is how they gain access if the doors are left open.

We can only apologise for the wifi issues and have passed your comments on to Ramtech who host the service. They should reimburse anyone who contacts them for any problems they have experienced. Contact name Neil Barrs on 08700 346270. We have passed your comments onto Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently came upon this site on spec and were very fortunate to be accommodated. The site is absolutely spotless with the grass cut every day. The owners are so helpful and fully deserve the 5 star rating. A lovely level site, not at all regimented as we've found on some caravan club sites, and all within such a short walk of the village centre and its amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whizzNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I visited recently over the bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed our stay, the campsite itself is immaculate and all the facilities are well equipped and extremely clean. The site is walking distance into Porlock which is great to grab some food or a few sherbets.

The area is stunning with some great walks around Bossington Bank.

We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidworth Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Although we are no strangers to Porlock, having stayed here several times either in rented accommodation or B&B at the Top Ship, this was the first time we had brought our new caravan to Porlock. We came for a week in April and were absolutely amazed at the standards set on this site. Nothing was too much trouble for the site staff and no matter where we went the facilities were excellent - and everything worked!! We will definitely be going there again, several times throughout the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Forrester24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Porlock Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've been to this site 4 or 5 times over the last few years and will continue to come back. I camp in a small tent using the site as a base to cycle or walk in Exmoor and it is in a superb location. It is a 2 minute walk into the town with shops, pubs and nice places to eat; it is also on the edge of Exmoor National Park and takes minutes to get into the wild, wilderness and natural beauty of the British countryside at its best. It is also next to the sea with coastal walks, but best of all it is quiet, peaceful and very well maintained.

I am surprised to read some negative comments regarding the rules because these help to keep the site what it is: peaceful, clean, tidy and well maintained. The facilities are excellent and cleaned numerous times a day and the site is always immaculate with some of the best kept gardens, which have consistently won prizes and awards. Perhaps those looking for less restrictive rules will appreciate the Site more when confronted with others who have inconsideration for their fellow-campers with excessive noise, bad behaviour and a disregard for the facilities. As a cycle-tourist and camper I have stayed at numerous sites in every area of the UK and this is without doubt one of the very best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Family business can mean parochial,old fashioned and reluctant to let staff be involved.
Not at this park ! all staff very motivated, and it shows in enthusiasm when helping clients.
The park is imaculately clean and tidy, both showers and grounds. this takes nothing away from the relaxed friendly atmosphere.
The location is perfect, 5 min walk to porlock centre, plenty of local shops and cafes, along with
several excellent restaurants.
We stayed in a caravan aug 2012, and were astounded, because it was immaculate, to find it was being replaced for 2013. we have booked again for 2013. If i owned a park, i would run it
exactly like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raywilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porlock Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porlock Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Porlock Caravan and Camping Park
Address: High Bank, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Porlock Caravan and Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porlock Caravan Park is a pretty, quiet family run, 5 star site, within the quaint old enchanting village of Porlock with its characteristic pubs, shops and restaurants. Local amenities include a tourist information centre, recreation ground and pony trekking. An ideal location for those wanting a relaxing break in a rural village setting. The park offers award winning amenities and a warm and friendly welcome to all. Tents, tourers and motorhomes catered for with spotless facilities including free hot showers, baby changing facilities, laundry room with drying area. Level grass and hardstanding pitches available. Separate field for rallies. Luxury, central heated holiday homes also available for hire. Our unique David Bellamy garden has an abundance of wild flowers, birds and wildlife with ample seating to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the stunning sunsets over the Bristol Channel and Porlock Bay.Porlock Bay is in the heart of the Exmoor National Park surrounded by spectacular coastal scenery, breathtaking moors and wooded valleys where you can see the Exmoor ponies and red deer. Dunster, the medieval market town, Lynmouth and Lynton with its vehicular railway are some of many local attractions certainly worth a visit or just leave your car behind and explore this walker’s paradise.Privately owned static caravans for sale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porlock Caravan And Camping Park Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing