We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
73
10
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
10
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog walking area immaculate condition fantastic campsite site rules highly recommend this site wedges clean site close to town owners and staff electric hook ups site owners minute walk walking distance stunning views new owners small dog lovely location
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Just spent 6 nights here with my wife and our 8 month old puppy. The site and facilities are absolutely spotless. One or two reviews have complained about the site rules but we found most of them were fine - close the curtain while showering ( common sense ) - mop floor after showering ( common courtesy). Everything is clean and tidy and I've never heard anyone complain because the showers were too clean!! There's a microwave and a fridge freezer available in the wash house ( I believe these are free but we didn't use them so I'm not certain). The wardens were always pleasant and said good morning- they even brought a gravy bone for the dog!! Our tent only just fit on the pitch (it's 3.8m x 6.2m) so they're not the biggest we've stayed on but we had no problems.
It's a 5 minute walk into Porlock with 3 pubs , 2 food shops and a multitude of cafes , tea rooms and more.
Would we return to this site? Absolutely.
Are there too many rules? Not really - they make for a nicer environment for everyone.
Just a final note about the wardens being inflexible, there's no point having rules if everyone is allowed to ignore them.So to everybody who's complained about this site - stay away , it'll make it easier for the rest of us to book!!

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

First of all I would like to say. It was a lovely campsite, very clean and the grounds are kept immaculate. (he was out everyday cutting the grass!!!)
But really got the feeling that they are not keen on campers in tents.
We arrived in the afternoon and the first thing that happened was that one of the cars nearly ripped off his sump by the rather high ramp on the entrance to the park, with no warning of the ramp.
We were shown to our pitches and the got told exactly where we could put our tent and no going over the size of the pitch. (I felt like they wanted to put white lines on the pitches, but this would make it look unkempt)
We said that another couple are joining us later (they were booked in), but quickly said that they would be staying in our tent. As we notice a large sign saying that there was no access to the park after 7 pm. so if you got stuck behind a tractor you're stuffed.
All he said to us that we can't have 2 cars to one pitch. and that they would have to leave it in the car park opposite the caravan park. But he said he would see if he could find somewhere to put in the morning. I pointed out that some of the caravans had 2 cars parked by them, he said the caravans where allowed to have 2 cars!!!!
Unfortunately, when our friends arrived about 8 pm we forgot to mention to them about removing the car after unloading their camping gear etc.
In the morning we got told to remove the car from the site and he made no attempt to see if they could put somewhere in the campsite. So our friends had to pay for parking in the local car park, even though they had paid to camp. I wouldn't have minded if the camp was busy or full, which it certainly wasn't. We were the only 2 tents with 5 other camper vans on the site, apart from the static caravans parked around the outside of the camping area, with only a few in use.
I also wouldn't recommend taking children to the camp as no ball games extra.
Everything was extra, 20p for the microwave, 20p for the hair dryers, 20p to put the heating on in the wash/shower area, and the Wi-Fi was also chargeable, (need to get into the real world, also quite expensive).
We were allowed to have a BBQ but it had to be put on bricks, and cleared away by 10.30 pm. No camp fires or wood burners, which we had on legs so wouldn't burn the grass. Still not allowed.
I will say that we are in our 50's but felt the campsite was for the older generation or retired.
We have stayed in the other site in Porlock, although I must say the facilities where not as good, but all in all a much nicer feeling to the site and much friendlier.
We will be going back to Porlock but not to this site.
Apparently, they have just changed hands, but we were told that the couple running the site, where there before, but not the owners.
If they don't want campers in Tents, they should say so.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank Tinkerbell1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Good location. Clean shower and toilet facilities. Very good dishwashing area and laundry room. Small dog walking area but close to town. Pitches are fairly close together. Should be spread out more in quieter periods.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Another great visit to the Porlock Weirfest and beer festival and great stay at the Porlock Caravan Park, site immaculate as always and managed by a great couple who worked so hard to make our stay as good as it could be a great thank you to John and Rosemary your a credit to the site

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We pulled up at this site on the off they had room for our camper, all the electric hook ups had gone but there was room on the bottom field which is open 28 weeks of the year, cost was £18 for the two of us and our dog, the field was beautifully cut, had porta loo's on and we had the use of the shower block at the top of the site, there is a lovely dog run keeping the field nice a clean for everyone, a little garden at the top, & views of the sea. Staff were really friendly and just a walk away from the village which has a decent range of shops pubs and eateries for a small place, we brought some lovely steak from the butchers too! Shower block was spotless and good showers! Would recommend this place with no hesitation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bumblebeetree2tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews