We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food that needs to be matched by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Culbone

The Culbone
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relax and unwind while you enjoy the stunning views from our peaceful bedrooms, and outside dining area. The seasonal views of the Valley and Moors are breathtaking (the coastal mist adds real magic to the landscape). Lush green in the spring and summer and full of character and action in autumn and winter. Partridge, pheasant and deer are our companions in the milder months. Staying at The Culbone is a great way to experience life on Exmoor.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food that needs to be matched by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our Fish Night visit here. The quality of the ingredients and cooking were both good. The wine selection not vast but was big enough. We went for the Picpoul de Pinet to accompany our fish. The mussels proved a good starter and main course and all fish options went down well. The sea trout was particularly good - served with capers on haricot beans.
Main area for improvement was service. Some of our large party had almost finished their sea bass before the steaks arrived.
We would definitely eat here again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tedsowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    82
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very disappointed with the Culbone as a restaurant. Excellent location and lovely decor which suggested it would live up to its own hype on website. Limited menu, which would not have been a problem if the food had been good. Unfortunately, the food was ordinary at best, with over-cooked and tough steak, and a scalding, undoubtedly over-microwaved, dessert. Though not particularly expensive, overall our meals were simply not value for money. Can not comment on the Culbone as a place to stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MclHml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Caribbean Night 27 June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Norbert the chef excelled himself with a very creative and delicious menu from the West Indies.
Great evening for all four of us. The sharing platter a delight, red snapper cooked to perfection and scotch bonnet lamb curry first class.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwintrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I think they have started to believe their OWN publicity. Nothing was very impressive,very average all round.difficult to see how a supposed class resteraunt allows dogs in ,very unhygienic !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We discovered the Culbone inn whilst driving from Porlock to Brendon on Exmoor and saw a banner proclaiming that it had won the South West Champion Start-Up Category in the Countryside Alliance awards. Definitely worth further investigation. So we headed back that evening & were lucky enough to get a table for four without a booking. The food & beers were excellent & it was good to see that it was all locally sourced. The staff were friendly & helpful & made us feel very welcome. This was immediately apparent at the entrance where there is a sign announcing that hikers, dogs and muddy boots are welcome. The pheasant chowder & Hake in black butter & caper sauce were to die for. Couldn't fault it.........

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Culbone also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing