We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culbone

The Culbone
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relax and unwind while you enjoy the stunning views from our peaceful bedrooms, and outside dining area. The seasonal views of the Valley and Moors are breathtaking (the coastal mist adds real magic to the landscape). Lush green in the spring and summer and full of character and action in autumn and winter. Partridge, pheasant and deer are our companions in the milder months. Staying at The Culbone is a great way to experience life on Exmoor.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We come form the near by village of Lynton but now live in Sussex, On our last Visit home being my Mums and my Birthday we wanted to all go out for a special Birthday meal and not wanting to go too far, It was a lovely Sunny June evening although the theme night at the Culbone was Greek the staff accommodated us with Gorgeous Steaks :-) We cant wait to come back home again and will defiantly be calling up to the Culbone for another meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We can't wait to see you either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    82
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had lunch here on Wednesday after a 12km walk around Allerford.
Lovely remote surroundings with a nice friendly greeting on arrival. An interesting and varied menu on offer. We had mussels and devilled kidneys to start followed by scallops and the brie tart, with drinks a total of almost £70 - not the cheapest lunch but well worth the extra for wonderful well cooked food. Great service all round in a quiet and comfortable restaurant.
Cannot fault the Culbone for anything. We would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It was lovely to meet you.

I'm delighted that we met your expectations. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shame about the dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a great place to have a meal high up in the exmoor hills with lovely views. We called in for an afternoon tea with a view of looking at the menu, my wife noticed the smell of dogs on entering but I hadn't noticed at first, still not to be put off as we had read good reports of the place we booked an evening meal, The food was excellent but was let down by the smell of dogs on the night we ate there, there were 5 large dogs in the restaurant not what I would call hygienic but this is a dog friendly place though its a bit off putting when your trying to eat your meal and a dogs nose appears at the table too. We felt a little let down by this but once again would say the food was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for your lovely feedback.

We are indeed a dog friendly business, we've named our companny after Pips, our Westie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Father's Day meal with the family and it was very very nice!

Lovely Surroundings and found it very easy to relax and enjoy the afternoon.

Food was very nice, including the Father's Day bottle of Pear cider as a present!

I tried the halloumi, which my partner ordered and it was amazing!

Only faults are very minor and not worth mentioning to be honest! Would and will go back!!!

Burgers are very good!

Helpful?
Thank Toytank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Liked the Culbone, stayed there the night after visiting Arlington Court (NT) room nice but with dark furnishing and some walls, which was a shame as our room looked north, so lighter furnishing and walls would have suited it better. We arrived about 7pm and were informed that if we wanted to eat (which we did) the earliest table would be at 8:30pm, we were sat down before then but our order wasn't taken until well after 9pm and by the time our food arrived we didn't want it, shame really. I would have thought residents would have had a little better service. Breakfast the next morning, full English, FABULOUS. would stay and eat there again, but a bit out of the way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jiverjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Culbone also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing