We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Somerset is possibly Britain's best kept secret...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Selworthy View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jjwo
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Somerset is possibly Britain's best kept secret. Along with The Packhorse in Allerford.”
Reviewed 27 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Packhorse is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful parts of the British countryside. The quality of the welcome you receive here is wonderful, the owners Brian and Linda really can't do enough for you. They are always around to help, but also discreet enough to leave you alone.

We came last year and loved it and despite trying not to come back we couldn't resist it (we like to explore and try to avoid visiting the same place twice.) It is highly likely that we'll be back next year.

The most amazing thing is the amount of excellent walking right on the doorstep therefore we rarely have to use the car. It really is beautiful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc05126...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“We love this place...”
Reviewed 27 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

I have never written an online review on anything before but I am more than happy to say how lovely The Pack Horse is. We first stayed there about 10 years ago when Linda and Brian had just taken over. The whole area is obviously beautiful but more important than this for us was the way the owners make everyone feel so welcome from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Consequently we've been back every year since and are now proud to think of Linda and Brian as good friends. We've always stayed in Stable Cottage and each time we've gone back we notice some sort of improvement that's been added. It's clear that we're certainly not the only ones who re-book to go back year after year - that says it all I guess!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganoo7
spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an oasis, home from home,lovely people beautiful villages”
Reviewed 25 May 2010 for a stay in December 2009

l had a few day away from London, what a treat was is store for me,beautiful villages decorated for Christmas,l joined friends , and we had such a lovely time exploring the countryside and their dogs enjoyed it too,will certainly go back again ,it very unspoilt, and the suite of rooms were spotless and nicely furnished ,the owners where so friendly and pointed us in the right direction od places to visit,E, Dobbs, London

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat1943bo...
KENT
1 review
“A WONDERFULL PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 16 December 2009 for a stay in December 2009

We had the most wonderfull week staying at the Packhorse, in Allerford., Somerset, Its the best West country accomadation we have stayed in,..surrounded by pretty villages , and the owners are so nice and helpful, we took our three dogs and they had a great time too, We cant wait to go back, do look at the website, you wont be dissapointed, its the best holiday in uk we have had for years,do try it, Pat and Colin, and the dogs...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$163
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing