We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorna Doone Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
79
75
25
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
75
25
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerscourtyard roomlimited parkingvisit exmoorexcellent mealshower headdog friendly hotelhotel restaurantnearby public car parklove dogssteep stairslovely hotelparking on siteworking hardfind somewhere elsea small double rooman evening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We popped in several times over our break for coffees and teas. They were helpful and seemed genuinely lovely people wanting to give a good service. the coffee was their own blend of the locally produced coffee and was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meriel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in a family room in the courtyard and walked through a delightful garden to the hotel for breakfast.

The hotel was charming, but we didn't use its facilities.

The staff were friendly.

Only downside was that I would liked to have been given small maps of the area. The only ones we could find were advertisements of local attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Perfectly nice hotel, slap-bang in the centre of Porlock. 7 of us stayed after walking the Coleridge Way. You could call the rooms either "dated" or "quaint" dependent on your point of view, but they were nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and they served a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

stayed for just one night .a lovley greeting from the owner.a bit dissapointed with room as it was a bit tired but very clean. and a really comfy bed.had a drink at the bar which was a nice atmosphere and of much better decor than the bedrooms.breakfast ok set us up for the day.would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grhmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Hotel is centrally based in the heart of Porlock and the adverture which is Lorna Doone. For us the Hotel offered peace and tranquility, love the snug which on a rainey day would be a great place to watch the world go by, sitting in front of a lovely fireplace with a filling cream tea. The Hotel too me offered a very informal atmosphere and felt comfortable straight away. My Father was traveling with us and he was put in one of the spacious stable rooms, while my wife and I were on a first floor stable suite which was at the rear of the Hotel. For us its was about the staff. Mo, whom was on reception when we arrived was fantastic and very helpful, Andrew whom kept us furnished with either some great wines or a cup of tea if we prefered and the owners, Mr/s Tony & Dick Thornton whom are the warmest of people Iv'e ever met. I'd forgotten my map book and Tony lent me a local road map and pointed out all the places to go as we started out on our Lorna Doone adverture - Robbers Bridge,The Church at Ore, Doone Valley and so on. Other people staying there during our stay were from all walks of life, a group of 40 year old chaps on a biking holiday (very well behaved), a number of couples whom were there for Exmoor walking treks and lovely older lady from Bromley whom was staying on her own for a weeks Holiday and the Lorna Doone experience. Superb quality breakfast, lunch and evening meals and the menus offer great variety. Delightful cream teas, comfortable accomodation, delightful and helpful staff, overall a delightful stay at the 'Lorna Doone Hotel'

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogman1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews