We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little trip!”
Review of Lorna Doone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorna Doone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff here were really friendly and the room was okay - definitely good value for money (during the off-season).

I really enjoyed the cooked breakfast - the kippers were especially good! The location makes for a surprisingly great little holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Only booked one night ,but what a gem ..staff made us really welcome ,even to the point of fetching an umbrella when we parked in the rain .for what we paid we really had great value ..room spotless and breakfast the next morning was brilliant ..will defiantly be going back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I decided to take my two youngest for a few days away. As I had stayed here before with friends I knew it had a family room. Maureen and Toni are very helpful and pleasant and the kids enjoyed the 3 nights we stayed. The hotel is located centrally in Porlock and it allowed us to explore the towns and villages close by including Dunster, Minehead, Lynton and Combe Martin.

The room had a King size bed and a single. Which suited our needs, an ensuite shower room and was away from the main hotel in the courtyard so I wasn't worried about the kids getting up early and making noise.

Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order each morning. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and my daughter said she had the best fish pie EVER!

Maureen and Toni had just got a few goldfish for a small outside elevated pond which seemed to entertain my children very much. The beach can be accessed down the back lane from the hotel it is a 3/4 mile walk but this is down mostly footpaths and virtually flat no hills and if you know this part of the country to find a place with no hills is a bonus!

we had a great few days and did some treasure trails we had purchased before going both for Dunster and Minehead, which showed us lots in both towns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizathealily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Some may say that the decor was tired - I say it is a bit 'chintz' and fits in with the age of the building. The staff (esp the lady that was there for our breakfast each morning) could not have been more friendly and helpful. We loved that from Porlock we ventured out for day trips to Lynmouth, Dunster and (unfortunately!) Minehead but in the evening there was places to eat and drink locally (within walking/stumbling) distance! Would def stay here again.

1 negative: my mate's room didn't have a holder for the shower so he could only have a bath or hold the shower and wash one handed... This should be easily rectified in the future though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked this hotel for a family weekend away around the Exmoor National Park. The hotel is basic: It has a pub/restaurant at the front (and maybe some rooms upstairs) and more rooms at the back where we stayed.

The hotel is in the centre of the village, so there is a good selection of restaurants, tea rooms and pubs nearby. Please be aware that the hotel has very restricted parking facilities, but there is a short stay car park two minutes away. There is a maximum stay of two hours, but the car park is free from 18:00 to 09:00. We arrived at 17:00, paid for two hours and the ticket printed an expiry date of 10:00 following day.

The room we stayed in was in desperately need of refurbishment: The doors and walls need painting, the carpets were worn out, the curtains were old letting a lot of light through. They could be better fitted that is for sure. The bathroom, on the other hand, was modern and new.

The room was equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, and a fridge that could be used (although it was switched off upon arrival, so may take some time to cool).
The restaurant food was box standard average, nothing special about them. The rump steak and the chicken fillet we had were a bit chewy but the portions were very generous and well presented.

Breakfast in the morning was good, with a good selection.

Overall, an average stay with good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pessutojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here Friday evening and it was fine, nice clean room although a little dated, bathroom was New and clean so no problems. Good choice for breakfast and nicely cooked full English breakfast.All in all worth the 80 and a nice comfortable bed to sleep in for the night.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucky97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We popped in several times over our break for coffees and teas. They were helpful and seemed genuinely lovely people wanting to give a good service. the coffee was their own blend of the locally produced coffee and was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meriel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
6.8 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
10.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
5.6 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone Hotel

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porlock
Price Range: £62 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorna Doone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorna Doone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone Hotel Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing