We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly recommend the Studio on Doverhay Farm"”

Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut
Ranked #16 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Highly recommend staying in the Studio accommodation on Doverhay Farm. The room itself was light and spacious with an incredibly comfy double bed. Tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and a small T.V are provided and the eco loo and shower are situated in a shed next door. The eco loo was fine to use (think posh festival) and the shower hot; just what you need after a long walk in Porlock. Michael, the owner, welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly and accommodating. It's a shame the first reviewer didn't stay for breakfast (maybe it would have tempered their mood) as Michael's home-cooked breakfasts were great. One of which we ate in the garden whilst basking in the morning sunshine. The farm is a very pretty and peaceful environment to stay in and a short walk from local shops, pubs and cafes. Porlock itself is very picturesque with some beautiful walks and all visitors must try the Ship Inn for dinner. If you’re looking for a relaxed romantic weekend, then this is the place to stay.
Next time we’ll try the Shepard’s Hut!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamaraOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Shepherds Hut was brilliantly converted with everything you could need. The home cooked breakfast is to die for and the owner could not do enough for us. Dover Hay Farm is brilliantly located for walks on the moors, a trip to the beach, or a browse around Porlock itself which is a 2 minute walk away and has just enough tea rooms, pubs and shops to suit all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

If you're expecting a standard B&B then this isn't the accommodation for you, but if you want something a little different (or even eccentric) with privacy and in a lovely location close to Porlock, with a garden to sit outside then this is for you. Not sure why the previous reviewer couldn't sleep as it was one of the quietest places we have stayed in and although the floor needed sweeping, there was no sign of mould or smell of damp (and yes we do have a good sense of smell!) but at the end of the day it is an old barn! Definitely accommodation for the summer only, but I don't think it is open over the winter as we were told the radiators don't work. The owner Michael is very welcoming and friendly and offered us a bbq to use one night as well as chilling our bottles of champagne for us. The barn is huge and has a very comfy bed and settee and small tv up a step and table and chairs with a mini fridge (very handy!) and also bunk beds separated by a large curtain. The bathroom is in a shed near the back door complete with eco loo but it makes this clear on the website. A great location to be able to walk straight up to Exmoor but also only being a few minutes walk from Porlock and near the local facilities. Breakfast is served in the cross passage farmhouse dining room - lovely croissants and good sausages and bacon. I was also offered salmon and scrambled eggs which was all cooked on the Rayburn(?). Don't expect fast service, just a very leisurely breakfast but plenty of books and local information to read while you wait! It's not sophisticated but if you want something a bit rustic and quiet then would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed at this studio. The Eco loo was interesting and the location was good but unfortunately the Studio (an old barn originally?) was the worst place we have ever stayed because it smelled of damp, I suspected mould, even with the doors open. We would have left immediately but it was too late to book elsewhere so we hoped for the best and hoped that maybe it had simply not been aired out properly. We aired it out well but it did not remove the smell.I got little sleep, was up at two-ish and counted the minutes to 5am. I could hardly wait to get my family out of there. We left very early the next morning and skipped breakfast. Do not stay here unless you are reassured that the damp and mould have been sorted out. Unless you are someone who has no sense of smell and does not need to breathe, that is.

Room Tip: smells of damp and mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut

Address: Doverhay Farm | Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy romantic en suite Shepherds hut with double bed and wood burning stove set in a private orchard on the edge of the village of Porlock, within Exmoor National Park, 5 min walk to pub, 10 min walk to beach. Dogs welcome and the odd tent for children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing