We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doverhay Farm Shepherd's Hut
Nearby Hotels
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
2
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnpowerful showerthe perfect hostmichaellooshepards
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Shepherds hut, it was converted brilliantly with thoughtful touches. The garden area was perfect to have a BBQ and sit and have a cider or two! Top marks for a lovely breakfast it really did keep me going all day!
Thank you so much for a perfect weekend and we will be coming back :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Highly recommend staying in the Studio accommodation on Doverhay Farm. The room itself was light and spacious with an incredibly comfy double bed. Tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and a small T.V are provided and the eco loo and shower are situated in a shed next door. The eco loo was fine to use (think posh festival) and the shower hot; just what you need after a long walk in Porlock. Michael, the owner, welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly and accommodating. It's a shame the first reviewer didn't stay for breakfast (maybe it would have tempered their mood) as Michael's home-cooked breakfasts were great. One of which we ate in the garden whilst basking in the morning sunshine. The farm is a very pretty and peaceful environment to stay in and a short walk from local shops, pubs and cafes. Porlock itself is very picturesque with some beautiful walks and all visitors must try the Ship Inn for dinner. If you’re looking for a relaxed romantic weekend, then this is the place to stay.
Next time we’ll try the Shepard’s Hut!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TamaraOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Shepherds Hut was brilliantly converted with everything you could need. The home cooked breakfast is to die for and the owner could not do enough for us. Dover Hay Farm is brilliantly located for walks on the moors, a trip to the beach, or a browse around Porlock itself which is a 2 minute walk away and has just enough tea rooms, pubs and shops to suit all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

If you're expecting a standard B&B then this isn't the accommodation for you, but if you want something a little different (or even eccentric) with privacy and in a lovely location close to Porlock, with a garden to sit outside then this is for you. Not sure why the previous reviewer couldn't sleep as it was one of the quietest places we have stayed in and although the floor needed sweeping, there was no sign of mould or smell of damp (and yes we do have a good sense of smell!) but at the end of the day it is an old barn! Definitely accommodation for the summer only, but I don't think it is open over the winter as we were told the radiators don't work. The owner Michael is very welcoming and friendly and offered us a bbq to use one night as well as chilling our bottles of champagne for us. The barn is huge and has a very comfy bed and settee and small tv up a step and table and chairs with a mini fridge (very handy!) and also bunk beds separated by a large curtain. The bathroom is in a shed near the back door complete with eco loo but it makes this clear on the website. A great location to be able to walk straight up to Exmoor but also only being a few minutes walk from Porlock and near the local facilities. Breakfast is served in the cross passage farmhouse dining room - lovely croissants and good sausages and bacon. I was also offered salmon and scrambled eggs which was all cooked on the Rayburn(?). Don't expect fast service, just a very leisurely breakfast but plenty of books and local information to read while you wait! It's not sophisticated but if you want something a bit rustic and quiet then would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed at this studio. The Eco loo was interesting and the location was good but unfortunately the Studio (an old barn originally?) was the worst place we have ever stayed because it smelled of damp, I suspected mould, even with the doors open. We would have left immediately but it was too late to book elsewhere so we hoped for the best and hoped that maybe it had simply not been aired out properly. We aired it out well but it did not remove the smell.I got little sleep, was up at two-ish and counted the minutes to 5am. I could hardly wait to get my family out of there. We left very early the next morning and skipped breakfast. Do not stay here unless you are reassured that the damp and mould have been sorted out. Unless you are someone who has no sense of smell and does not need to breathe, that is.

Room Tip: smells of damp and mould
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews