We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience”
Review of The Big Cheese

The Big Cheese
Ranked #6 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Porlock
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cheesemonger and Delicatessen
carmarthen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rude and unhelpful: nice cheese, but wouldn't go there again. Served by a male, not the female mentioned in other reviews

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjaneCarmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    2
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where was John Cleese?”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had hoped to obtain a light lunch at about 1.30 PM on Saturday 7 December 2013. There were three of us and by the time the lady behind the counter came to serve us, we were the only people in the shop.

Her manner was most unhelpful and bordering on rude when she told us that because she was short handed she only had limited ingredients available and if anybody else came in we would have to wait whilst she served them. She clearly did not want to prepare any of the menu items for us and did nothing whatsoever to make us feel in the least bit welcome, so we left taking (we estimate) £50 of custom with us - a triumph for "small business day"!

I know that Monty Python Flying Circus is making a come back and that they have a sketch about a cheese shop that has run out of cheese but this was ridiculous and made Fawlty Towers look five star. If you own the shop and your takings are down, no wonder.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful service”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I asked the proprietor for a recommendation for a cheese to buy as a gift for a friend of mine who is something of a connoisseur. He was able to recommend a wonderful Exmoor Blue that was by no means expensive and he seemed to value customer service above simply making money. Next time I will look him out and buy a similar cheese just for me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average choice, rude staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The shop seems quite nice, but the selection of cheeses is actually quite average. The shop mostly seems to sell tea, chocolate, tourist souvenirs.

But, the woman 'serving' here was rude, unpleasant and really rather up herself, and felt it possible to make snide comments about anyone who entered her shop.

Not worth making an effort to go to this shop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJR_Bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My first savoury cream tea”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

And it was fab-u-lous! Fresh crumbly cheese scones with soft cream cheese and two different chutneys (real ale and seasonal vegetables), with a nice big pot of a tea and a smiley happy member of staff, we were made welcome and although there was a little delay in taking our order the place was full and everything was presented very well. I would definately recommend and would go back again given the opportunity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Cheese also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Big Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing