We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sparkhayes Farm Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must stay!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

So laid back, jus turn up, pitch up & the fees are taken when the owner does the rounds in the evenings. Reasonable price, the views are stunning & its 5mins from the town! Porlock is a lovely place and everything you need on your doorstep.. Also loved the fact they provide a kettle and microwave

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cescandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just got back from another fantastic stay at sparkhayes. as people have said its basic but its got everything u need. no pressure when you leave. really laid back owner. nothing to much trouble. a must to go and stay at this place. good food at the ship. shops right on your door step. going back for duck race next week. cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaloka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

As the title suggests this campsite is in a beautiful location, you look one way and it's trees and hills, the other way and is the sea. It's only a 5 minute walk into town which has everything you will need and it's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The campsite its self though is basic, the showers have no where for you to get changed, so if you are bashful or shy I would recommend for women to take a slip on dress (it's easy to get in and out of at speed). Also the grass was far too long and the place generally needed a bit of tlc. Those couple of issues are the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars and I would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tildo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived last Friday after a gap of three years we noticed a few changes. The campsite owner has built himself a lovely timber framed house at the entrance to the fields and the facilities block now has a roofed verandah but apart from that the fields are just as flat, the grass just as green and the ambience just as laid back. No booking in. Just find a space and dues are collected morning and evening and written in a receipt book just as happened in 1994 and the prices remain reasonable too. Electric hookup is available and free very hot showers. There is also a kettle and a microwave as this site attracts a lot of walking and cycling campers. If you like walking indeed there are numerous wonderful walks; Selworthy and Selworthy Bracon, Dunkery Beacon, Porlock Weir and on to Culbone to name a few. It is 1 minute from the campsite to the back entrance to the pub and 5 mins down the lane and over the salarsh to the beach (but watch the tide otherwise there's a long walk round). This area seems part of a bygone era, unspoilt and very beautiful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gunnewichtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've camped at this site with my two kids (under 10). The owner is a really friendly bloke, the field is nice and level with a great sea view but sheltered enough from the wind. The toilets are kept clean and fully stocked with toilet rolls / paper towels and the water hot 24 hours a day. Good washing up facilities and even a microwave and a small laundering capability. Good placement of waste bins at sensible places and water supplies. Easy 2 minute walk into Porlock. I recommend this site to campers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

1st time to this campsite with a group of friends who've been going for donkeys years.... Large and flat, very welcoming. Lots of hot water honesty box for use of freezer etc. Fantastic location will be going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

2 fields back of Porlock - so the shops,restaurants, buses just a quick nip.
View of Bristol channel and Wales on a good day or night, and Bossington hill. A stroll down to the shingle and marsh gives views and walks along the coast path to Porlock weir and Bossington (or even Minehead and Lynmouth). We saw 2 herons in the marsh.
We had hot water for showers and washing up. The free showers are just a shower tray and curtain off the toilet area but this minor inconvenience was outweighed by being able to have a quick shower after a long walk along the coast path.
Washing machine, tumble drier, fridge and freezer available if needed.
Phil the owner is currently building a house onsite so he will be there soon to supervise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkhayes Farm Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkhayes Farm Camping Site

Property: Sparkhayes Farm Camping Site
Address: Sparkhayes Lane, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porlock
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family site with free hot water and showers, toilets, washing up facilities, laundry room, washing and drying machines, hairdryer and shaving points, fridge/freezer and public phone. Luggage transfer available. Open February - December with limited winter availability. 5 Minutes walk to the village and its shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants. Fine sea and hill views. Beautiful 20 minutes amble down to the sea. On South West Coast Path Daily charges: £8.00 Adults, £5.00 Students, £3.00 Children - 4 and under free. Weekly rate: Pay for 6 and stay for 7 days. Dog exercise area, pets 50p. Electric hook-ups available - £4, please pre-book. We regret, access does not allow for towed caravans. Directions: We are located at Porlock just off the A39, which follows the picturesque Somerset coastline between Williton and Lynmouth. If approaching Porlock from Minehead, descend into the village and turn immediately right into Meadowhayes - the campsite is directly ahead of you at the end of this road. If approaching Porlock from Lynmouth, descend Porlock Hill and travel through the village, rounding the corner next to the church. Look for a small road on the left-hand side, Sparkhayes Lane. Turn in here and follow the winding road for a short distance until, at the junction with Meadowhayes, you see the campsite on your left. Amenities: There is so much to do near here for those who love fresh air and countryside. Boundless acres of Exmoor to explore, beaches and extensive woodlands, various National Trust properties and picture-postcard scenery including thatched cottages and pack-horse bridges. Cream tea heaven, with horse riding and golf a short distance away. Local attractions include the West Somerset Railway, Butlins, Exmoor Zoo and many more. Porlock is well equipped with cafes, restaurants and pubs, all reasonably priced, and our little harbour at Porlock Weir is well worth a walk. Stunning sunsets and abundant wildlife, a relaxed, friendly and extremely clean environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sparkhayes Farm Camping Site Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing