We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful thatched cottage in a fantastic location.”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful thatched cottage in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Had an extremely comfortable weekend with friends at a beautiful thatched cottage in the heart of Porlock village. Sue was so welcoming and friendly. Considering the cottage is old the bedrooms are large and spacious. The breakfasts were delicious and the portions generous. I would recommend this to all my friends and relatives. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in October, and what a pleasant surprise. We were touring for a week and The Gables was the best place, by far, that we stayed in. Spacious, spotless rooms. Very comfortable beds, bedding. Lots of nice touches. We would definitely go back. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of the room, it is a large double with a very large bed, I think the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindylouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in Prolock in the middle of August and stay 1 night. Really warm welcome from the owner, who showed us round the property and then to our room. We took a short trip to Porlock weir, to see the coast. Although it's just rocks and pebbles it was still worth a few pictures. Porlock itself has several pubs and restraunts, cafes, antique stores and little touristy shops, though we didn't explore much, given this was a short stop on our way to Corwall. Can't really add much more than has already been said. Great little village, great B&B, with a superb breakfast! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_travellers_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Gables is brilliant. Sue & Dave brilliant. Rooms and communial area's fabulous. As a global traveller having stayed in most cities in the world, I lowered my expectation, but it was really spotless and gleaming, inside modernised in a contemporary way with great quality touches of cool toiletries, TV, FREE Internet, Miles tea (local tea merchant since 1880's) and local produce at Breakfast. Sometimes its too easy to cut corners. They dont. They also let dogs in, so a perfect weekend of running all over the hills for my dog Cobie. Try the local cider its a knockout, and Cheese shop has amazing chutneys. GO

Room Tip: I stayed in Exford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of July for two nights. Lovely clean and spacious accommodation. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly and helpful hosts. Easy walk into village amenities. Car parking is about 200-300 metres from house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyDurhamRendrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have stayed here previously and little has changed since our last review two years ago - great welcome, room very clean and lots of options at breakfast. Our hosts (Sue & Dave) were very helpful and Porlock is a great base from which to explore Exmoor.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taylormaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Had a fabulous stay at The Gables, booked for 2 nights and stayed for 3!!! Sue Dave & Jess were lovely nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were great, the location was perfect for the centre of Porlock ( a 2 minute walk to High Street). As other reviews stated breakfast was great and plentiful. There was also a guest lounge and pretty garden. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a great B & B, we would use this again & again & again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing