We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in a charming place”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the Bossington room for a long weekend in exmoor. Had a fab stay, made to feel really welcome from the minute we arrived. The room was charming, loads of character and just so quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is great, locally sourced and hits the spot. We were greeted with tea and biscuits in the residents lounge on arrival, which was a nice touch. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and chatty but not at all intrusive. Overall, a really relaxing stay at a chilled and peaceful place. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Went for weekend for my mums 60th. From very first email to initially enquire to the moment we left they couldn't have done more. So helpful do friendly. B&B was great, rooms fab and the best breakfast. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraMedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Spent Easter weekend at The Gables, the beautiful thatched cottage set in the perfect location of Porlock, ideal location for visiting nearby attractions, plenty of pubs within walking distance to have a few pints of Somersets best ales and ciders.
Sue was awaiting with a very warm welcome, straight away all the tensions of Bank Holiday nightmare traffic were erased. We stayed in The Culborne room very tastefully decorated and a high standard of cleanliness. The room had a really comfy king sized bed, with really comfortable pillows and mattress. The en suite bathroom was also a good size with lovely soft white towels and complimentary toiletries.
The room also had comfy armchairs and tea/coffee facilities also bottled water.. Everything and more than you would expect from a B&B!
The breakfast was over generous with a choice of continental, cereals or the full monty, with toast and coffee in abundance.
We strongly recommend visiting Sue and Dave where I can guarantee like my husband and I, you will want to extend your stay.
Look forward to returning with family and friends in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A lovely place to stay, comfortable rooms, nice big bed, great breakfast and Sue is very welcoming and helpful. Porlock is a lovely village, the Ship Inn is good for food and local ale. An excellent location for visiting the area and for walking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Had a lovely stay at this beautiful little cottage B&B, couldn't fault it. Very cosy and warm and with superb hosts who can't do enough for you and who also cook amazing breakfasts. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Had an extremely comfortable weekend with friends at a beautiful thatched cottage in the heart of Porlock village. Sue was so welcoming and friendly. Considering the cottage is old the bedrooms are large and spacious. The breakfasts were delicious and the portions generous. I would recommend this to all my friends and relatives. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in October, and what a pleasant surprise. We were touring for a week and The Gables was the best place, by far, that we stayed in. Spacious, spotless rooms. Very comfortable beds, bedding. Lots of nice touches. We would definitely go back. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of the room, it is a large double with a very large bed, I think the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindylouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £65 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing