We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B in a beautiful village”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A wonderful welcome greeted us when we arrived at this gorgeous Porlock Cottage - superb room, facilities and an excellent breakfast added to a relaxing weekend. The cottage has a beautiful garden and lounge along with plenty of local information books and guides on what to do as well as being at the bottom of a short walk to beautiful Exmoor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Gables is a secluded cottage in the centre of the small village of Porlock. It's a great place to relax after the first day of the coastal path walk from Minehead. As day 1 is relatively easy you'll arrive early and so you'll appreciate the wonderful quiet garden and your host's kind offer of tea outdoors. Room A was great and has a bath. Breakfast was the best we had all week. Staying in Porlock, rather than Porlock Weir, makes day 2 longer and adds an extra mile to the total distance; but if you are happy with that then The Gables is a superb choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a really lovely old thatched cottage tucked away in the little lanes of Porlock, behind the main car park. We were made to feel very welcome, when we arrived we were brought tea in the garden.
The room was just right, very comfortable with a good selection of teas and coffee.
Breakfast was really good with very generous helpings and lots of choice, lots of fruit and cereals etc.
We will certainly stay again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights. The Gables is a thatched cottage and the bedrooms have a cottage feel. Our bedroom and others I managed to see, was clean, comfortable and airy. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of fruit juices, fresh fruits and cereals, followed by bacon, eggs etc. This is one of the best B & B's in which I have stayed. It certainly lives up to its 5 star rating. The only down side is there is no 'on site' parking but I was able to park safely and without charge nearby.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely old worldy cottage. A very friendly and helpful couple run it, breakfast selection excellent and great full English, had a fabulous 3 nights there. Lots of facilities; books and games in the guest lounge if you want to stay in for the evening. Although no on-site parking, it was a lot nearer than expected.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Gables is a drop dead gorgeous chocolate box cottage. Great welcome, fabulous large room with very comfy bed and great bathroom at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was excellent with a great range of fresh fruit. In a great location just on the edge of Porlock where you could walk in to the village where there were numerous pubs and restaurants to eat and closby to the beach and SW coastal path. Would highly recommend and hopefully one day will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife booked The Gables for our first year Anniversary . I could write an essay on how lovely it was but all I will simply say is you'll find it near impossible to find a B&B better than this one. Thank you for a lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizzy123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#4 of 18 in Porlock
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing