We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #5 of 17 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

You won't find a better bed and breakfast than this. It's the most beautiful building in a very picturesque village, breakfast was great, everyone was very friendly and we had a lovely room. It was a great base for some wonderful walking. Highly recommended. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Best B@B ever. Thank you Sue and Dave for a wonderful weekend stay. We had a marvellous stay again Breakfast extremely generous, rooms perfect with plenty of space. Sue and Dave very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had another excellent stay at the end of March 2014. Sue was a very welcoming host and made us feel as though we were at home. The Gables is perfectly placed in the centre of Porlock Village and the rooms within in it are clean and spacious, as well as tastefully yet minimally decorated. The breakfast was magnificent and was enough to keep us going for the rest of the day. If a full English is not up to your taste, there is a wide range of cereals and fruits for your choosing and a constant supply of tea and coffee. An excellent value Bed and Breakfast and I would recommend to all. Thanks again to Sue and Dave!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillips-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from a weekend stay at The Gables and once again we got five star service. Rooms always presented beautifully, breakfast you couldn't ask for better or more choice and as always made to feel right at home by
Sue and family. Looking forward to our next stay hopefully later on in
the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareG1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This must be one of the best places we have stayed! Fantastic welcome, comfy bed, really lovely decor, and absolutely spotless. Excellent breakfast on top of all that. The house is really lovely and Sue & Dave do a great job. The only downside really..... we could only stay 2 nights!! I would highly recommend this for anyone visiting the area. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

For my 80th birthday my son and daughter-in-law took me to Porlock where I had lived during the Second World War. They could not have chosen better than "The Gables" to stay. The house is beautiful,the welcome very warm and the breakfasts are to die for! I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 481Poppymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We are just on our way back from a fabulous visit to Porlock. We stayed at the Gables B & B and have to say we loved it. Warm welcome, very clean, charming building and to top it off an amazing breakfast! I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KateandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 17 in Porlock
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 17 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#8 of 17 in Porlock
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#6 of 17 in Porlock
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing