We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very warm and welcoming hotel! My nan stayed there when she came over from italy, and I stayed at the hotel with her for a week. I had breakfast everyday,and if there was anything we needed, the people there went out and baught it for us!! the chef ( and manager ) alex is very friendly and so is his wife! The food was exceptianol everyday and the rooms were well kept and cleaned everyday while we were out!! After our stay, they didnt charge my nan for me and gave her a discount as it was her second time there!!!! there is no swimming pool though, and it is very small, apart from that, great!!

Room Tip: I found the 2nd floor very comphy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
33
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a shame, the sheets, bedding and bed were definitely past their best but a large stain on the sheet was shockingly unacceptable! Otherwise the room was okay, it was situated on the upper floor with a sloped ceiling and dormer-style window. Everything was what you'd expect for the money and Gill was a chatty and welcoming hostess.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1234nobhill, Owner at Sea View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
This entry is factually unwarranted and we wonder why the complainant displayed only favourable reactions during the one night stay, two weeks ago. Thankfully, the vast majority of our guests record otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a two night stay in Porlock.
Had a wonderful welcome at the Sea view B&B by Gill the owner.
Our room was homely and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing.
Gill was very helpful with local knowledge and good reccomendations on where to eat locally.
Yes we would stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeholidaysOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at Sea View with some friends who were enthusiastic returning visitors and I wasn't disappointed.
Gill is so kind and welcoming and the breakfasts are the stuff of legend- exactly what you want, freshly cooked and served with homemade bread and preserves.
The bedroom was well equipped and comfortable and I loved being able to sit up in bed and look across to the sea. After 6 hours on horseback in the cold, I was delighted to discover there was even a hot water bottle.
If that's not enough, the B&B is perfectly situated for exploring the national park and there is also a resident soppy labrador in the shape of Ted (optional).
Thanks Gill- I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Gill really goes above and beyond anything you would normally expect from a B&B hostess. Three of us stayed with Gill over New Year and were so very glad we chose Sea View!

Gill couldn't have been any more welcoming and the property is fab - with a wonderful, eclectic mix of objects and artwork all around - including in the grand, breakfast room where she also lit the real fire for us each morning. Breakfast itself is an experience, with an extensive list of options, all beautifully cooked to order and with quality produce.

Several of us are going back in February, Sea View is becoming our Porlock home-from-home!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna_Fallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First found this gem of a place to stay last March but only just worked out how to leave a review.
Your hostess Gill, should you be lucky enough to stay here, provides the friendliest and most accommodating welcome. Nothing appears to be too much trouble and the fact that she has many guests who revisit regularly surely bears testament to and supports my 5-star rating.
The breakfast menu has to be seen to be believed with every taste and dietary requirement catered for - yes, that includes gluten free - everything where possible is locally sourced and much is home made. Personally I recommend the sausages (from the butcher in the village), the corned beef hash is delicious and the home baked bread and home made marmalade are to die for.
Of particular appeal to me was the provision of a single room with en suite - quite rare to find in my experience - and complete with a full bookcase! The room is fully equipped with tea/coffee making ingredients, TV, Wi-fi, hair dryer, radio and the comfortable bed is placed so that when you wake up you have a view across Porlock Bay - truly a Sea View (on clear days you can see right across the Bristol Channel to South Wales).
Perfectly located for the South West coast path (muddy boots are welcome!) or exploring Exmoor by day or by night as this is Europe's first Dark Sky reserve.
I will be back! :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlscoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed two nights in november. Gill was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was in the attic
very small, bathroom tiny. the room had a horrible musty smell to it and like the review before the bedding was dated and smelly which was a shame because the Breakfast was good with lovely homemade marmalade and breads.
The B&B is in a good position and Porlock is a lovely villiage.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank hoggess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1234nobhill, Owner at Sea View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
At Sea View we take all feedback from our guests seriously, which is why we feel it necessary to reply to this singular review.

Comments are not factual, there is no occupied attic.

Our property is registered within the Land Registry Office as being five bedrooms on three floors, of which the two bedrooms on the second floor have been there for centuries, with proper staircase, and the size of rooms conform to our 4 Star rating awarded by Quality in Tourism.

We strongly refute the other negative comments in this review. 4 Star standards are stringently scrutinised annually by Quality in Tourism, always met by ourselves and updated very recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
698 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Address: High Bank, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea View Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bed & Breakfast Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing