We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor Country House
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Exmoor Country House is a lovely period house in a beautiful setting which has been sympathetically modernised and attractively re-decorated.

However, in addition to the setting, the reasonable pricing of its rooms and the welcoming, efficient management of the B&B by owners Steve and Sally, it is the little details that make this such an excellent place to stay.

Firstly, Steve emailed separately to confirm the booking, check when we were arriving, give directions and advise on the menu if we chose to dine there.

Then there were the free drink and nibbles on arrival (between 6 and 7pm only) and the honesty bar thereafter.

Torches are hung in the entrance lobby for guests wishing to walk into nearby Porlock.

A notice near the stereo in the bar/lounge invites guests to turn the music up or down as they see fit. Serving both as the bar and breakfast/dining room, the ground floor space is a pleasant, comfortable place to while away half an hour after breakfast or before going out.

And what a breakfast! The best bacon and sausages I've had in any hotel or B&B. I strongly suspect they buy their meat from Clive Downs Butchers in Porlock - a very decent, traditional country butchers.

There is also a sealed flask of proper milk on the first floor landing for guests to use for morning tea/coffee.

The rooms are comfortable, quiet and spacious, with binoculars thoughtfully placed on the windowsill if you feel the need for some nature-watching, plenty of storage for clothes and a pleasant en-suite bathroom with a roomy shower stall.

All in all, a model example to hotel and B&B owners everywhere on how to run a great guest house!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are probably quiet, despite the proximity of the hotel to the main road from Porloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheBradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as attending a wedding just up the road. We were only expecting to be able to leave our bags as arriving early but they did one better and the room was ready to check straight into.
Lovely room, incredibly clean, beautifully soft sheets and towels. We made use of the honesty bar and were sad to miss out on tufty time!
Fantastic breakfast in the morning, sad to be leaving after such a brief visit but shall most certainly be returning in the new year!
Thank you!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank miss_stewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Exmoor Country House for one night excellant, very clean lovely room fab view very nice people. The only thing missing as far as my husband was concerned was a proper bar but other than that perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for room six very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Exmoore Country House from July 21st to July 23rd! It was a perfect stay! The rooms are beautiful, big and very very clean! The house is amazing and i loved all the details - just as the music in the guests area and the little torches! We had a very warm welcome and Steve and Sally are very lovely hosts! The "honesty bar" is a wonderfull idea and the snacks and drinks in the afternoon a very nice possibility to talk to the other guests! The breakfast was outstanding! Thank you Steve and Sally for this beautiful days in your house!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ramona0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently spent four nights at Exmoor House.
Owners Steve and Sally were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for us.
The house is in the perfect location to explore this beautiful area of Somerset and the accommodation is of a very high standard and cannot be faulted.
A big thank you to Steve and Sally for making our break extra special , we will definitely be returning.

Michael & Susan

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in July! The B&B was full and all the guests where made to feel important. The house, gardens and rooms are outstanding. The breakfast is fantastic, with a range to suit all. If you want luxury at a reasonable price this is the place to stay. I would defo come back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Jade....so glad you liked staying with us and hope you call us if you're passing this way again. Thank you so much for your positive review...we really appreciate it...best to Adam

Steve and Sally

Ps....hope you manage to get some horse riding in while you're down here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A group of cousins that get together every year stayed here last weekend for three nights. We have been all over the country but this place was one of the best for our needs. We had a family get together so we were able to relax in the lounge with our nibbles and complimentary drinks without anyone having to drive. We were then served by Steve and Sally an excellent meal each evening. They even sorted the menu before we arrived as we have a celiac within our group. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean - the photos are the web site are good to view it really is a superb place.
We were very lucky with the weather so were also able to relax in the lovely garden after our walks.
Well done Steve and Sally we will certainly be back thanks for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are good we stayed in room 6 lovely views from every window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RachelS370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello Rachel....we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you guys...it was a great weekend and we're really glad you liked our place...thank you very very much for your kind words...it means a lot to us. Hope you can make it back one day...all the very best...Steve n Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
6.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
16.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
340 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Country House

Address: Exmoor House Minehead Road, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £100 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exmoor Country House Porlock is a fine Georgian period house set in its own scenic grounds within the magnificent Exmoor National Park. All our rooms are furnished and finished to a high standard. Our English breakfasts are cooked to order using the best local produce we can source. We invite guests to relax in our lounge during the day as well as in the evening and offer complimentary drinks and light bites between 6 and 7 every evening. All in all quite stylish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Country House Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing