We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Large bathroom with double ended bath, large separate shower and heated towel rail. The shower with soap and shampoo dispensers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The dining area features a large table and handmade cupboards.
Large bathroom with double ended bath, large separate shower and heated towel rail.
The shower with soap and shampoo dispensers
Bedroom 2 featuring 'The Emperor' painting by Melody
Clothes hooks in bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 features a King size bed and Art Deco furniture.
The front entrance leads to a boot and coat lobby with further double doors to the main areas.
This is a shared courtyard area with seating available.
The main bed is a super king that can be split into two large singles, please request when booking.
The lampshades in the main and 2nd bedroom
Main bedroom with Harrison super King bed
2nd settee featuring 'Welcome', another painting by Melody
A new feature for the lounge
Early morning view towards Porlock Weir
A common site on Exmoor are the Red Deer and Stag, these are the largest wild animals in Britain
A few of the extras.
Main bedroom with super king bed, this can be split into two large singles.
We hope you enjoy your stay
A few reviews from our first guests
Further details of Melody Art
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jane e
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful stay at Puffins - I can't recommend it enough! We're a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and it was plenty of room for us. The moment we walked into Puffins we felt very much at home. The owners had left homemade scones and milk in the fridge which was a lovely welcome. The kitchen was well equipped and there was tea and coffee for us to use. The furnishings and decor are very attractive and of a high quality. The bathroom is a treat with large bath and excellent shower. Puffins is ideally situated just off the high street and a very short walk to the pubs and restaurants. However, it also very quiet and peaceful there and we all slept well on the very comfy beds! There is a car parking space a few yards from Puffins and this was very convenient. All in all an excellent choice if you're visiting Porlock which is in a gorgeous location near the sea and Exmoor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah T
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived very late on a Friday night but the arrival instructions were clear and we found Puffins with no major problems.
The apartment was comfortable, homely and clean and so well equipped. We loved the bathroom: both children insisted on having a bath (!) and the shower was fabulous. Loved the robes, the banks of fluffy white towels and all the extras.
We had a hectic but lovely couple of days, making the most of the local area. Although I was brought up not too far away, it's not an area I know well and there is lots to explore. We found the maps and local info provided really useful, especially the walking map of the Porlock area.
And thank you for the delicious flapjacks! Sure we'll be back. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, it is a surprising pleasure to offer Puffins and to try and maintain our high standard. I say surprising because during all my years in an office I would never have thought I would be doing this. But here we are and your review makes it all worthwhile, thanks once again, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burni_196...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a 4 night family stay here and couldn't have been happier with the apartment. Very comfortable and well furnished. Also, all communications with the owners were great. Some Lovely little touches too, like crab nets available and milk on arrival. Porlock itself was good and would recommend the Mandala pizza restaurant too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review, very encouraging and a pleasure to make and keep Puffins at a high standard. Hope we see you again, kind regards, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis Ja...
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place very comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent apartment well equipped missed only a dishwasher but otherwise everything needed was provided

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you Dennis for your kind review, a dishwasher, something to think on.
Kind regards
David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Sarah, thank you for your lovely review and the one in our book. It really is a pleasure to provide and maintain somewhere that we would love to stay ourselves.
Kind regards David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
naughtyto...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything you could need in one apartment”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked for a short 4 day break over Easter. The Easter eggs and Easter cake left for us was a very nice welcoming touch. The apartment is as advertised with all the equipment you might need for a break away. Have to admit I didn't spot all the on line guidance and took stuff that was already supplied. The robes and slippers are a nice touch, and handy too as the apartment is on the ground floor and only has roller blinds over the windows. Bathroom is amazing with a really deep bath ideal after long Exmoor walks. Beds are also very sumptious. We slept like logs. The Private parking is also very handy in crowded Porlock. Great place to stay with friendly and helpful owners. Have already recommended to family and friends who like to visit the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway70...
1 review
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely apartment fully equipped with all that was needed. Beautifully comfortable beds, plenty of space and many DVD's if needed. The apartment is ideally placed for local pubs and excellent food which we really enjoyed, especially The Ship, superb. The shops within walking distance were varied and of good quality. Good area to explore the countryside and the surrounding moors, stunning. we would certainly stay again and have already recommended it to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, for us it is such a pleasure to provide a place that is so appreciated and lovely reviews encourage us when we are preparing for each visit. Hope to see you again soon. David & Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing