We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great venue for a house party.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shapwick House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shapwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shapwick House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shapwick
Ostuni, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great venue for a house party.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Having just returned from a 60th birthday party in lovely Shapwick, I can honestly say it was the most fun I have had in ages. The birthday "boy" and his wife virtually filled the house with a party of 24 guests. Local caterers were used for the Saturday night dinner - which was excellent - plus a little band comprising two very charming young men who played and sang Beatles' hits and had us dancing for hours. A local MC was also hired to run a Murder Mystery evening, which seemed very appropriate in this Tudor manor house. Another local entrepreneur provided a morning of clay pigeon shooting (with laser guns) which was incredibly entertaining for all. The rooms were grand - lots of four poster beds and creaking floors. There were lots of wonderful old fireplaces and the house was full of atmosphere. We had the use of the kitchen facilities and everyone mucked in and helped with the cooking and washing up, which added to the camaraderie. My only, very slightly, negative comment would be that I think the house could do with a bit of an upgrade in the decorating stakes. But I would absolutely recommend this venue for an out of the way weekend in gorgeous Somerset countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Orna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
689 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I attended a relatives wedding at Shapwick House. The hotel wasn’t hard to find, though there are no signs until you are at the immediate entrance. The drive is in poor condition but the house itself is charming with extensive grassed surroundings and a picturesque lily pond and fountain at the rear.
We arrived at 1130 on the wedding day and Nichola (The Manageress?) allocated our rooms. We were on the 2nd floor, in the ‘Yew’ room. Off the corridor, there are 2 steps up to the room and then 2 down from a sort of landing with the bathroom off to the left. The Bathroom, bath with hand held shower and wash hand basin, is about 6m x 2 m. Carpeted with large windows there is no razor point. Towels and toiletries were plentiful and of good quality.
Our room was about 8m x 6m, with a large double bed, large settee, a coffee table, 2 bedside tables, a small dressing table and a large double wardrobe.
The bed linen was crisp and clean, the curtains gave a good black-out and we slept well.
The room was clean, the hospitality tray was fine but lighting levels were a little dim. We were worried at the ‘wasps’ swarming outside our window and the wasp spray in a draw, but were told they were harmless Somerset Black Bees.
The event included a civil marriage ceremony in the Grand Hall for 50 guests, a meal in the Georgian Dining Room, excellently presented and served, hot and tasty, with a dessert to die for!, followed by a disco in the Grand Hall. There is a Bar room (prices are a little high)and a lounge.
Breakfast the next morning is served in the Georgian Dining Room and included a freshly cooked ‘full english’ – very tasty and well served.
All in all, this was a charming way to celebrate a joyous occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We hired the house for my wife's birthday party on the Friday Saturday and Sunday and invited 20 guests, leaving two rooms empty. We employed the in-house team of caterers just for the Saturday night banquet, bringing along our own dishes for the Friday, the breakfasts and lunches. We also employed the services of a couple who brought along a clay pigeon range, archery range, skittles and outdoor games for the Saturday daytime; where we got lucky with the weather and had a splendid time outdoors. We lit huge fires in both the main reception room and the bar snug. The actual banquet was well served with excellent food, in an ornate-ish dining room with glorious views over the grounds. Having brought our own sound system (a necessity) we finished off Saturday night with a party, cleaned up Sunday and Nicola accommodated us with a late check out and a smile. Overall it was a mad, mad and great fun weekend and i would highly highly recommend it to anyone who wants it for a party. One of the best aspects is that, unlike other large houses we have hired, every room was to the same standard, so no-one felt slightly peeved by any of their rooms. Lack of a shower meant a bath and a four poster or the other way round. Our children absolutely adored the place. It is only one wing of the house so you do have neighbors. (Not bad for a "semi" though!) That might cause a noise issue if you were to have a wedding there for 80 guests as i get the impression that one of them is not as amenable as the other.
But for us, and our style of "do" it was absolutely spot on and special thanks to the chef. Absolutely fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lobstermadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2006

A trully idyllic location, with fantastic views from every room, this Tudor manor house provided a fantastic location for the wedding. This was a totally bespoke package with whatever required to make our day perfect. Our guests stayed overnight in four poster beds with every luxury and a full english breakfast the following morning. All in all a fantastic and very reasonable experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shapwick
2.8 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
13.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
16.1 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shapwick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shapwick House Hotel

Property: Shapwick House Hotel
Address: 7 Monks Drive, Shapwick, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shapwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shapwick
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Shapwick House Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing