We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”
Review of The Globe Inn

The Globe Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
somerset,england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

once again i have been impressed with the food served here

i had belly pork that had been cooked to perfection and was delicious and at under £10 with all the trimmings it was great value

i thought that there might have been a change in management since it is even better than previously but was assured that this was not the case

this remains my favourite pub for a meal in the local area

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and yumtastic food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

went here last night with my family, a table had been reserved for us, very comfortable seats and ample room at the table, the order was taken and when the food was cooked it was served efficiently, the food was fabulous, steaks were cooked to our liking, the staff were great, they checked everything was ok and once we had finished the table was cleared away promptly,
The Globe has ramps so would cater for disabled customers, the gardens at the back were lovely, as a smoker there is a covered area to go outside for a fag and this area has a wood burner to keep us smokers warm during the colder times,
It was my first time here and i will definately be going back next time i visit my family in Somerton

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great service and value”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been to the Globe before and found it to very good but yesterday we had lunch and there is no doubt that they have gone a league above. The food was amongst the best we have eaten for the price. The staff were really friendly and welcoming and this is half the battle when it comes to running a good pub or restaurant. Well done to all you deserve to succeed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, as always. Will be back :-)”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Never had a bad meal here, the portions are very generous too. The Inn was busy and unfortunately they were short staffed and there was only one person serving the diners which meant a bit of of wait for courses to arrive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

With a group of four friends for an evening bite to eat and some real ale. While the evening was overall very enjoyable, the presentation of the menu could be improved. On our table, we ended up with the a la carte menu, a specials menu, a lunchtime menu, a baked potato menu and a Mothers Day menu. Once we had discarded those not applicable to the time of day/year, there was the choice of the a la carte or the specials. Specials were all two for a tenner, a la carte was around about £13 for a main. We all went for the specials as the choices did look very good and the lasagne I chose was first class. No complaints from the rest of the group either. Good real ales as well and some nice desserts. Great value all round.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank N1gel_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

Somerton, Somerset
Somerton, Somerset
 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing