We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gastro pub”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great gastro pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went there for my wife's birthday,not having been there for some time we didn't know what to expect. We were not disappointed.Large comfortable tables in a modern but classy setting made eating a pleasure not to be rushed.the fare here is upmarket pub food of the highest quality.my ribeye steak was tender cooked rare as asked whilst my wife's hake was pronounced excellent..not the cheapest inn to visit .but quality is never cheap.we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alstel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great tables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A newly refurbished pub restaurant with great food. There were so many lovely dishes on there menu and everybody enjoyed what they chose - venison, salmon, Thai chicken, sausage and mash, steak, asparagus and poached eggs, crab tart. Everything was perfectly cooked and looked lovely. On top of that they have square tables so 8 of us could eat together and talk. So much better than long tables.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyclinglady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“facelift great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have been eating here for years and always loved the décor but the new facelift is great and I think has actually added to the atmosphere. Food as ever was superb especially the venison. Well done guys

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregory010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing burgers and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Called in for an early evening meal. The sun was shining and so we took our drinks into the garden. We both order the beef burger and chips and wow, we were both amazed with how delicious the burger and homemade chips were. Very impressed with the choice of mayonnaise and salsa dips on the plate. Faultless service. Felt very welcome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltsEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a charming, comfortable country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This pub is very well kept, with modernisation and comfort that doesn't take away from its charm.
The food was very nice- the menu is quite 'gastropub' and the service was good too. It's not the cheapest food in the area, but worth it for the surroundings and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aileneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
 
Langport, Somerset
Somerton, Somerset
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing