We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The One That Got Away"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Somerton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"The One That Got Away"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

While holidaying in Weymouth, we made the journey of approximately one hour to visit good friends now living in Charlton Mackrell, Somerset.

As lunch time approached six of us then travelled the short distance to neighbouring Charlton Adam to dine in the commendable comfort of The Fox and Hounds.

After being pleasantly greeted (always an important factor) the three ladies in our party participated in their glasses of wine, while for us men Butcombe Bitter became the collective choice from the selection of Ales on offer.

A pint I hadn't experienced before, yet am pleased to report, was well kept and very enjoyable, so much so others quickly followed!,

Although we hadn't booked,
A table for six was instantly available and much deliberating began as we pondered the excellent choices available from a comprehensive Menu .
The resulting outcome amounted to two Gammon Steaks, a Chicken Curry, a choice of Scampi, another of Liver and Bacon and a Lasagne along with two additional portions of Chips becoming the food order for this particular Wednesday lunchtime.

Of these, sadly, the Lasagne faired the lowest, while the other meals, the Gammons in particular, were judged to be well presented and of high quality.

Serving a really good pint and five out of six meals securing strong recommendations
The Fox and Hounds is well worth a visit..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    11
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Huge Improvement in Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We last had a meal in this pub about a year ago and the meal and service was very poor.
On 11th Sept we returned with friends and the whole experience was much much better. The meal was of high quality and a reasonable price. The waitress was also very efficient and friendly.
We look forward to returning again soon. Well done to all the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had to come home and write a review after visiting this pub today ! We were a large party with lots of small children, and as you may know eating out with children can be a bit of a hassel but this was a lovely experience !, Felt so relaxed, the kids and adults all happy !
The food was fantastic ! Most of us had deep fried brie to start followed by sunday roast of either pork or beef (all pre-ordered a few days before as we were a big party). there was other food options available such as scampi & chips, Salads, ham egg & chips or curry. The children had a good selction too. After we finished eating the chef came out to check that we had enjoyed our food which was a nice touch ! It was clear plates all round !
We then spent the afternoon sat in the nice sized beer garden where the kids enjoyed letting off steam. They have a nice wooden pirates ship to play in. A few times our children followed us into the bar when we were ordering drinks and the staff didnt seem bothered by it , they were very good with the chidren. We were enjoying ourselves so much that a few of us stayed on for tea too ! Its lovely to find a nice local country family friendly pub that serves outstanding food ! Will definatly return !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chicky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited here with family, the beer garden was really lovely and the food was fantastic and very reasonably priced, I had the seafood salad and it was one of the best salads that I have had in a pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebirdSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pit stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Better bring an extra stomach for the food here is lush! The portions are well sized and very filling! Great if you want to have a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing