We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant stay in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We spent 4 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May while participating in an annual 3-day cycling event based in Somerton. The hotel provided a beautiful haven of calm after hectic days and strenuous exertions!
Our room was in the Coach House and it could be described as 'compact' though this is, I think, reflected in a competitive room rate. The interior is traditional country house style in keeping with the genteel surroundings, but the excellent (new) bed & duvet, flat-screen tv and free Wi-Fi access meant you have the benefits of a modern hotel. The shower was excellent after chilly days in the saddle!
Breakfast was superb - a good selection of cereals & seasonal fresh fruit, juices etc. plus very good cooked breakfast choices based around traditional 'English' breakfast model. The Full English (scoffed on final morning) had both black and white pudding - classy.
The gardens are lovely, very calming. Somerton itself has plenty of dining options within very easy walking distance - the Market Bar & Bistro offers an excellent menu, the Unicorn Hotel provides solid traditional meals.
Mike and Chris were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive and we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for a cycling weekend in August 2011 (drop down only went to June ?) and found the hotel was the perfect country retreat. Peaceful gardens with a lake, a very large luxurious, comfortable room, and a delicious breakfast complete with strawberries.
Manager Mike was welcoming and helpful in many ways, and the town centre is a five minute walk away for several dining options. Thank you and we will happily recommend The Lynch to friends.
Michael and Patricia, London.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patcarden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very peaceful country house hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Beautiful gardens and very comfortably furnished.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed here recently. We agree entirely with all the previous positive comments. Roy, the owner, is the friendliest warmest and most welcoming host that we have ever encountered.We felt like one of the family. If you are lucky he might be pursuaded to take out his clarinet, and boy, will you be in for a treat.
We were concerned about the negative report on the creaky bed.and raised it on our arrival.Roy has taken this on board and a replacement is on its way. Our bed was perfect and the room stylish and atmospheric.Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room is full of fascinating artifacts and paintings and photographs.
We shall definitely return.
Janice and Charles Bloom
Cheadle Cheshire.UK

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QCBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Lovely house, lovely gardens... Interior disappointing. Rooms outdated, but the absolutely worst thing of all was the bed... Looked ok, fourposter, mattress very creaky and uncomfortable with roll... The mattress was so creaky and noisy that every time my husband moved in his sleep it woke me up! Very tired and bleary eyed... English breakfast average. Previous reviews just don't ring true... I would really expect more for £100 a night...

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plym-pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We would recommend this B&B. Our room was in the coach house apart from the main house and was very quiet. Beautiful old house. Umbrellas provided in case of inclement weather - they were needed! The gardens were beautiful, although we only had a the chance for a brief stroll through due to the rain. On a sunny day I could see myself with a Pimms or G&T.....
Room was comfortable although I wasn't expecting sheets and blankets. Very luxurious towels and all expected ameities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiliaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

If your looking a for a place to stay then it is well worth considering the Lynch Country House. Set in beautiful grounds the rooms are well furnished and the breakfasts are good.

One to consider!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
2.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
211 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
255 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
68 reviews
7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range: £79 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lynch Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lynch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing