We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the average.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cut above the average.”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Once a year, my wife and I go on a cycling/walkiing couple of days with two other couples. This means that one year in three we are the organising couple. The limitations are that the area should be within approximately 50 miles radius of Wimborne, not too many hills, quiet roads, interesting scenery and a good B&B. The Somerton area forefilled all these criteria and the B&B in particular left us with an imposing number of "Brownie Points" that the couple organising next years trip are going to find difficult to match!

Room Tip: The thee we had all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor_rothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
62
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May whilst taking part in a cycling event. It was the perfect place to unwind after a hard day in the saddle. We stayed in the room with the 4 poster bed as this was the only room left when we booked and I am very happy to say it was worth the cost. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the big bath with copious hot water and big fluffy robes was just the ticket. The breakfast was first class, a very good selection of top quality food. The owners were thoughtful and helpful but not overly so and we have no hesitation in recommending this B&B. My only suggestion to our hosts would be to have larger cups in the rooms for tea and coffee!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We spent 4 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May while participating in an annual 3-day cycling event based in Somerton. The hotel provided a beautiful haven of calm after hectic days and strenuous exertions!
Our room was in the Coach House and it could be described as 'compact' though this is, I think, reflected in a competitive room rate. The interior is traditional country house style in keeping with the genteel surroundings, but the excellent (new) bed & duvet, flat-screen tv and free Wi-Fi access meant you have the benefits of a modern hotel. The shower was excellent after chilly days in the saddle!
Breakfast was superb - a good selection of cereals & seasonal fresh fruit, juices etc. plus very good cooked breakfast choices based around traditional 'English' breakfast model. The Full English (scoffed on final morning) had both black and white pudding - classy.
The gardens are lovely, very calming. Somerton itself has plenty of dining options within very easy walking distance - the Market Bar & Bistro offers an excellent menu, the Unicorn Hotel provides solid traditional meals.
Mike and Chris were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive and we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for a cycling weekend in August 2011 (drop down only went to June ?) and found the hotel was the perfect country retreat. Peaceful gardens with a lake, a very large luxurious, comfortable room, and a delicious breakfast complete with strawberries.
Manager Mike was welcoming and helpful in many ways, and the town centre is a five minute walk away for several dining options. Thank you and we will happily recommend The Lynch to friends.
Michael and Patricia, London.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcarden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very peaceful country house hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Beautiful gardens and very comfortably furnished.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feebee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed here recently. We agree entirely with all the previous positive comments. Roy, the owner, is the friendliest warmest and most welcoming host that we have ever encountered.We felt like one of the family. If you are lucky he might be pursuaded to take out his clarinet, and boy, will you be in for a treat.
We were concerned about the negative report on the creaky bed.and raised it on our arrival.Roy has taken this on board and a replacement is on its way. Our bed was perfect and the room stylish and atmospheric.Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room is full of fascinating artifacts and paintings and photographs.
We shall definitely return.
Janice and Charles Bloom
Cheadle Cheshire.UK

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QCBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Lovely house, lovely gardens... Interior disappointing. Rooms outdated, but the absolutely worst thing of all was the bed... Looked ok, fourposter, mattress very creaky and uncomfortable with roll... The mattress was so creaky and noisy that every time my husband moved in his sleep it woke me up! Very tired and bleary eyed... English breakfast average. Previous reviews just don't ring true... I would really expect more for £100 a night...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plym-pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Property: The Lynch Country House
Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing