We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Elegance”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country Elegance”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We came home from the Lynch Country House feeling totally relaxed. Set in peaceful countryside with lovely views, the house itself is elegant, comfortable and welcoming. Our spacious room was beautifully clean and had views over both the front lawn and the lake to the side.
Breakfast in the orangery was a lovely start to the day with high quality, well cooked food, and entertainment provided by the resident black swans waddling around the garden.
The pretty village of Somerton with a choice of places to eat is literally a few minutes walk away.
Chris McKenzie, the Manager, was professional, friendly and helpful from start to finish.
It was a pleasure to be able to stay in such a beautiful house.

Room Tip: The Somerton room is double aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
64
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

At the start the communication with The Manager Mike McKenzie was clear friendly and helpful. The meet and great was efficient and we were shown to our room the Goldington in the Main House. The room was perfect with a 4 poster bed with ensuite bath and shower. Furnishings were very tasteful and in keeping with the decor. Mike recommended the Market Bar and Bistro for dinner and we were very impressed with the standard of cuisine and efficient service. Our breakfast was of a very high standard with lovely fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and a delicious full English breakfast for myself and scrambled egg and smoked salmon for my partner. This is a wonderful hostelry for a couple of nights away or even better a wedding reception in an unforgettable venue. Please give it a crack, it is well worth every penny !!

Room Tip: Any in the main house or in the outbuildings. No evening meals served so very quiet kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on- Trent
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Lynch Country House in October 2011 and what we found surpassed our expectations. Most importantly the staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful. The rooms were luxurious with beautiful views of mature well wooded grounds. The beds and furnishings and decor were excellent in quality and design. The breakfast was extra special served in a beautiful orangery. This venue is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Visit the web-site to see more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Lovely buildings in well-kept grounds, comfortable rooms and beds, and a delicious breakfast in a bright, spacious morning room - highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the wonderful Lynch Country House for one night on October 27th 2011 and it was a lovely experience. The place has atmosphere and quality, and the staff and proprietor were friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms were excellent and the standard of decor of the highest quality. The most important thing for me is the mattress for a good night's sleep, and no expense has been spared in ensuring that comfort is provided by one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. The breakfast was very good too and based in a breakfast room with some style. All in all a good value for money place set in a beautiful town amongst some of the best English countryside you can find.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Wish we could have stayed longer than one night in this lovely country house. Everything is perfect - yes it is.
Warm friendly welcome, pretty bedroom with lovely bed and bedding, bathroom had thick soft towels and robes with lashings of hot water.
The breakfast was amazing - freshly segmented pink and yellow grapefruit, strawberries, fantastic full cooked breakfast and toast, fresh coffee - PERFECT.
This has been the best hotel I have stayed in for a long time and excellent value for money.
Thank you for making us so welcome - we will be back very soon I hope.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. The hosts are wonderful along with a lovely breakfast. All round a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We would recomend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
8.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart Somerton
The White Hart Somerton
#1 of 11 in Somerton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Property: The Lynch Country House
Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing