We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in the Lynch for a long weekend and had a lovely stay. The house itself is a beautiful old building, with lovely grounds that include it's own lake with black swans. We had the large family room on the top floor which was very spacious for the 3 of us. Had no problem with the large bathroom being across the landing. The breakfast was amazing - lots of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals & a lovely cooked breakfast. The house is within walking distance from the town. Would we stay here again - definitely YES.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked the whole hotel for a family wedding in Somerton. Mike and the team were very helpful and made our stay a pleasure. The rooms and breakfast are all superb. We will stay there again when we visit family in the area. We recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A perfect stay in a wonderful town. As we had our daughter with us we stayed in Kendall room on the top floor which although having no ensuite.. does have a private bathroom across the landing and so we had no complaints.

The room was spacious and immaculately clean and comfortable. The whole house and grounds are wonderful and you have a choice for breakfast all of which is freshly prepared for you. Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was a great start to the day.

You can also walk into the town for dinner which is a huge plus as well and the White Hart is throughly recommended.

If travelling through Somerset again we would definitely ensure we stay here rather than anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. Mike and staff were really welcoming and did everything to make sure our stay was a happy one. i would visit again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Rarely do quiet ambience, quality of food, furnishings and comfort of the highest order come together in one establishment as they do in this listed country house. Located a short distance from Somerton's attractive High Street and square, with their several good eating places, Lynch House is a haven of peace set in extensive grounds with a tree-shaded lake providing a home for black swans and families of mallard. Our bedroom ('Goldington') and en-suite bathroom were spotless, and tastefully furnished with interesting antique pieces including a four-poster bed. A widescreen tv is provided, and complimentary wi-fi allows you to keep in touch with the outside world.

The excellent buffet and cooked breakfast is served in a more recent light and airy extension constructed to an exacting period standard in the form of an orangery. Photographs and artefacts of the big band era line the walls which, together with a baby grand piano, reflect the jazz musician background of the house's personable and welcoming owner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My only regret about staying here was that we'd only booked one night; I think we might have redesigned our trip if we'd known what it would be like. The owners obligingly put an extra bed into one of the elegant bedrooms in the house to accommodate us, and there was every comfort - antique furniture, bathrobes in the bathroom, and a beautiful view of the garden. There were all sorts of delicious things for breakfast, including smoked salmon, and the crowning pleasure was after we'd had our own breakfast to go out into the garden to watch the black swans being given theirs!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed with daughter and dog in the Coach House. Rooms are nicely decorated with a very good bed. The breakfast was excellent. The owners are nice snd have good recommendations for the area. Would love to come back any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triumph-Fahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
64 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
250 reviews
8.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Address: 4 Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing