We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
141
24
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
24
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black swans one night warm welcome gardens are lovely small lake smoked salmon we've stayed yogurt breakfast was delicious very comfortable stay relaxing break furnished with antiques rooms are large interesting shops ground floor regular basis private garden
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding nearby. Welcomed and shown around by Lynne. Our room was the Somerton in the main house. It was lovely and a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was yummy and made to individual order. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Slb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Lynne welcomed us to The Lynch and showed us around. The garden around the main house is beautiful. We stayed in Wessex in The Coach House which had its own little garden and seating area. Very comfy bed, nice to have towelling robes etc. There was some road noise but it didn’t bother us. Super breakfast in the Orangery and great to chat to the owner Roy in the morning. We look forward to going back to Somerton. We had a very good lunch at the Courtyard cafe with scrummy home made cake too. We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: We liked the Coach house rooms.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We have just stayed in the Lynch Country House for two nights and we have had the best time. The house and grounds are beautiful, and perfect for a get away from it all weekends, Somerton is lovely village and there is lots of history and places to explore in the area. Breakfast is lovely and Lynne the Manager is a perfect host. We are looking for another weekend to return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne V, Manager at The Lynch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon, thank-you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful setting for a relaxing getaway. From arrival to departure we were made to feel very welcome by Lyn(manager) nothing too much trouble and she has plenty of local knowledge to make your days/ evenings out interesting. This country house is full of character, beautiful settings/ gardens with ducks, black swans squirrels etc views from rooms and the amazing orangery ( where a fabulous freshly cooked full English breakfast is served catering for everybody including fresh fruits, juices, yogurts for lighter appetite) we stayed in the coach house ( these is a separate building adjacent to the country house) in the Wessex room, again everything you need full of character, rustic beams, Inside queen size comfy bed tea/ coffee tv ensuite shower etc including private garden and chairs. We would highly recommend this B&B and will return when next in the area. Thank you Lyn and staff for your hospitality.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank beckie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne V, Manager at The Lynch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I can fully understand the accolades that this property receives and were it not for our very disappointing room I would have awarded 5 stars without reservation. We booked through booking.com and on arrival we were told we had been allocated an attic room with warnings to mind our heads. Luckily my wife and I are not particularly tall but even so spent much of our time stooped to avoid the protruding beams. In addition to this the advertised bath/shower was a bath with a hand shower which was to be honest useless.
Further issues were that the bathroom door would not latch and the room door would not lock. As we only stayed for 2 nights we put up with this .

The breakfast was very good served in a lovely orangery overlooking the impressive gardens .

On checkout the housekeeper seemed genuinely concerned about our disappointment with the room and said they had issues with the booking.com listing . We were encouraged to stay again with a free room upgrade based on our experience. If that proves to be the case we will try again in the Autumn

Room Tip: Avoid attic room Alderley
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews