We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Suggested by John Leach of Mulcheney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Somerton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Hart Somerton
Ranked #1 of 11 Somerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suggested by John Leach of Mulcheney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having visited the pottery it was suggested lunch would be good at the White Hart.
Indeed it was excellent. Good food, selection of good beers, helpful staff and bright yet relaxing décor.
Intend to stay over on our next visit.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theshaws55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    57
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
30
100
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a very comfortable place to stay in an attractive small town in a pretty part of the country. Good food and service. We were on a "deal" which was excellent value. Our room was generally very good (excellent bed), but required a bit more clothes storage space. If you are above average height, then "watch your head"

Room Tip: If you are in one of the rooms at the front then beware the privacy issue - people on the street can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAWELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed August 2013 for 2 nights in Room 4 for £85/night B&B

We were really very taken with this charming, newly revived pub/B&B which we stayed in for a little anniversary getaway. We knowingly booked the smallest room they have, but were very surprised to find it was substantially bigger than expected with a splendidly appointed shower room en-suite. Bags of quirky features, lots of pillows on the bed and a lovely selection of teas and coffee as well as bathroom products on offer. The food was mainly excellent - cooked with high quality, locally-sourced produce. Breakfast was a delight - and we were invited to order more than one dish if we wanted - and, oh wow, served until 11am! We greatly appreciated that. One of the things that also must be highlighted is the staff that work here: they were simply the cheeriest, most upbeat and good humoured people I've ever encountered at a B&B. Absolutely faultless service, everyone made us feel right at home with nothing too much trouble.

One very small gripe, almost a shame to mention: the TV didn't work in our room so they very apologetically took it away for repair for the length of our stay. There was free wi-fi throughout so we could still stream the news which was really all I wanted anyway, but others may have been inconvenienced. Having said that, it's not likely this would happen again.

Room Tip: We picked Room 4 because it didn't back onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarzana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Awesome place, the room is a mixed of different stiles, gorgeous. The comfort kit is wonderful, shampoo, bath soap, conditioner, all of high quality. The hot tub is simply fantastic!!!
The hotel doesn't have a private car park but it wasn't hard to find a spot. The breakfast was delicious, every thing is home made and the delivery come from farms close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeNicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are a group of six golfers who stayed at the White Hart on our return from Burnham and Berrows Golf Club. The pub has been beautifully renovated and is contemporary shabby chic style. The food was locally sourced and superbly presented. The crab salad is a must, as are the triple cooked hand cut chips! The rooms were of good size and very well laid out with very good ensuite bathrooms. You would definitely pay more for these rooms! The staff were ever so friendly and nothing seemed to be a problem. We were six very happy golfers and would highly recommend the White Hart if you are thinking of staying in Somerton and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardingly, Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The bar and restaurant were very busy when we arrived at peak time on a Friday evening for a one night stay with an early start in the morning. Despite being so busy the manager dealt with us promptly and made us feel most welcome. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast. The well thought out decoration and attention to detail made for a perfect mix of quirky luxury and home from home. Our stay was only to be brief so we wanted somewhere that would be special and comfortable. The White Hart delivered in every respect and we look forward to visiting again soon when hopefully we can stay around Somerton for longer to explore what seems like a very attractive and historic town.

Room Tip: In room 8 there is a noisy kitchen extractor outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was treated to two nights here for our wedding anniversary, having stayed at their sister pub with rooms, The Swan in Wedmore, last summer. This is a great pub/boutique hotel (as is The Swan); the staff are friendly and efficient - a really nice hospitable team, the food is fabulous, there's a friendly and relaxed ambience in the bar and restaurant, lovely bedroom with huge, very comfy bed! Would definitely love to go back and stay and/or eat! Good location for exploring Somerset - we visited Lytes Cary National Trust property nearby, the Ethicurean restaurant for lunch a bit further north at Wington (both well worth a visit). And do call into the Vintage Linen Press in Somerton High Street (open Thurs-Sat only), what a lovely shop and lady who runs it! Thank you for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynexth0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Somerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Somerton

Property: The White Hart Somerton
Address: Market Place, Somerton TA11 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 bedrooms have been beautifully refurbished to the highest standard. Each room is different, individually designed with quirky interior design details. High quality Egyptian bed linen, king and super king size beds to sink into, and tea & coffee making facilities, wifi and smart TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Hart Somerton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Somerton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing