We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Hart Somerton
Ranked #1 of 11 Somerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for work, but would go back for a weekend away. Pub/restaurant excellent. I stayed the night and the rooms are superb. Breakfast also fantastic. I am struggling to find fault. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Cracking place - stylish, very clean, awesome menu, fab staff.

We have been 5 times since opening back in the summer of 2013..

Super duper food - always a delicious, hearty, spicy mix in offer - but a shame there's never much fish / seafood though!

Great staff - special thanks to affable Gent, 'Tobias' on the bar and super helpful friendly 'Nat' who tendered to our odd requests...

We will go back and back and back...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank LEC-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for a weekend whilst visiting family. Had room 4 which although labelled small isn't actually much smaller than many standard hotel rooms. Lovely decor, very comfy bed, lovely ground coffee in room, fab toiletries and bathroom. A tiny bit of noise from below late at night but didn't disturb or bother us at all.

Good lovely had two evening meals and two breakfasts (the bacon is amazing). Lovely friendly bar staff and a charming waitress for breakfast. Again I have to mention the coffee - amongst the best I've ever had!

A lovely place in a lovely spot and good value for great quality. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireDistantsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for one saturday night after a long day of travelling. We were warmkly welcomed and showed to our room which was lovely and had a great selection of drinks and everything required to bathe and ready for dinner. We then found a decent seat in the bar area and enquired about food. We were told that the menu for the evening meals was being typed up. Later we sat in the restaurant only to be told that the table was reserved. I then asked to be moved to another table but was told that all table were fully booked. Considering that we had asked two hours previously for a menu I would have thought that the member of staff could have highlighted the lack of table/ or that the restaurant was fully booked - this was the only let down of the stay.

We had a wonderful time otherwise once we had found somewhere else to eat. The room was very confirtable with a huge bed. The breakfast selection was also impressive and we were able to eat what we wanted.

I would dolphinately come back, although prebooking dinner is clearly a must.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Pre book if you want to eat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you are looking to escape the rat race, here could be the perfect place. From the moment we stepped through the doors and were welcomed by a log burner, comfy sofa and smiling staff, we knew we had chosen well.

The bar is large enough for you to choose to be in the hub of atmosphere or escape to a snug for almost total peace. We chose halfway; a book, a pint of Potholer / glass of white wine & lemonade and a sofa in front of log burner towards the front of the bar. In front of us was a table of 6 ensconced in conversation and bursts of laughter. To the side was a gentleman in hiking boots, quaffing presumably a well deserved ale and catching up with the papers. Next to him a young family, baby possibly 3-4 months old. Behind us presumably some locals chatting away. This really is a place for everyone.

Bar snacks & restaurant menus were absolutely mouthwatering. We shared a pizza and chips for lunch. No frozen rubbish here. Read the blurb on the menu and you see how passionate they are about local, seasonal produce freshly served.

Evening meals were stunning and wine reasonably priced too. You can see why people are flocking here. The kitchen really cares.

Our room (no.8) was a delight. Smart TV (no Sky) on the wall, nice reading lamps and a huge superking bed. Bathroom/wetroom tastefully decorated. Found the room slightly cooler than we would have liked but not sure if that was due to us disturbing the heating controls in the effort to warm up the room a little.

Parking is the only gripe we really had, and even that wasn't a big thing. It's on-street and there are time restrictions Mon-Sat.

We will need to make time to come back in the summer to try the gardens and summer menu.

Finally, must say how refreshing to have every single member of staff we encountered smiling and only too willing to answer our questions. And they certainly knew the ethos of the business. Thank you people.

Room Tip: Think room 8 may have been above the kitchen as a slight hum of extractor fan, but not enough to dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DraytonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

An anniversary treat found via Mr & Mrs Smith. I left it a little late to book and we had room 4 which is one of the smallest but still very comfortable with a fabulous antique French bed. The bar is a great space with lots of seating, a varied bar snacks menu and very friendly staff. The food here is superb, interesting and well thought out and the breakfast was equally excellent. Make sure you book a table for dinner in advance though.The staff however definitely deserve accolade in particular the manager Natalie who always had a smile on her face, even when faced with some unique characters in the bar! Luke also deserves a mention, he was very knowledgeable and a great conversationalist. The fact that they would also happily take a one night booking for a Saturday was very refreshing, as is the fact that it is beautifully appointed, well run and not charging exorbitant prices. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are the smallest but still well appointed. Room 4 has a rain shower but no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A lovely location at the centre of Somerton's market square. Staff is young and very welcoming. Breakfast is delicious. The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Windows give straight onto the square, but I did not find the room noisy. My only comments would be that the room was slightly too hot, and that the panel serving as a shower curtain was too thin and made it tricky not to put water everywhere on the bathroom floor. But overall top marks for this great and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VdM117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
23.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
441 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Cleers View Farm
Cleers View Farm
#2 of 11 in Somerton
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Somerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Somerton

Address: Market Place, Somerton TA11 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somerton
Price Range: £72 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Somerton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 bedrooms have been beautifully refurbished to the highest standard. Each room is different, individually designed with quirky interior design details. High quality Egyptian bed linen, king and super king size beds to sink into, and tea & coffee making facilities, wifi and smart TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Somerton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Somerton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing