We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Somerton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Hart Somerton
Ranked #1 of 11 Somerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“relaxed weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a great open plan relaxed pub come dinner with rooms all in a "trendy shabby" style.
The staff all young were l friendly helpful and always had a smile
The food is excellent ,we stayed two nights and had lunches and breakfasts only but would rate the breakfast as the best i have ever had ,all the food being locally sourced and thick dry cured bacon with fat that has turned to crackling a highlight!
Very good coffee , local ales and a good selection of wines
We stayed in room 4 which was one of the smaller doubles but had a very good walk in shower room,
However my only real moan was:
i) the lack of good lighting in either the bedroom or bathroom
ii) the room did get hot even with both windows half open , it was not hot this weekend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    60
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
108
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a 2 night mid-week break at The White Hart & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We booked a small room & were in room 5 which maybe small compared to the other rooms but is by no means actually small in size, it was spacious & housed a Superking bed!

Due to the nature of the regular turnover of occupants the décor was looking a little "lived in" in places (as the vast majority of hotel rooms do) but it was very clean and comfortable. The quirky & eclectic furniture & sloping floor gave it a great character feel, with the super deep bath (I'm quite tall & had to clamber to get in it!) & waterfall shower giving a lovely touch of luxury.

Some may be put off by the fact that the window opened onto a set of steps but it really didn't bother us in the slightest as we weren't there to gaze out of the window.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious & plentiful, I had toasted homemade bread with buttery scrambled eggs, bacon & roasted tomatoes, whilst my husband had the full English along with coffee & ice cold cloudy apple juice, the perfect way to set-up for a day out exploring the Somerset countryside.

We also had dinner in the restaurant on one evening - the burgers were juicy & flavoursome with the most enormous, crisp on the outside, fluffy on the inside chips on the side. Yum!

We look forward to being able to visit this little gem of a place to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JefferC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for business, greeted with a smile, which continued throughout all the staff members. Room was nicely decorated.

Had Rib eye which was lovely, if I was being very picky id say it was medium not medium rare as requested but hey ho - still fab.

Great selection of lagers & ales..

Good breakfast & coffee in the morn.

Overall a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in the 'big' room with the four-poster bed. All in all, it was great value for money, with quirky decor, friendly staff and fantastic food. My only bug-bear was that a service charge was added to our final bill, despite the fact that we'd left quite a big tip on the table the night before. Obviously, being the polite British people we are, we just paid it and had a moan about it to ourselves later!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurdlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked Sunday lunchtime to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.
For starters, we had the West Coast Fish sharing platter. Delightful fresh squid in tempura batter, crab bhajis, mackerel pate and bream ceviche in a lime marinade. Served with a homemade coleslaw, lemon wedges and flatbreads. Each element was super-fresh, tasty and differently spiced. Fabulous.
For main course, we had the Nyland steak with a Chimichurri butter, handcut fluffy chips and a rocket salad. The steak is a favourite that I've had before. LUSH!!.
The usual efficient and smiling service. A perfect dining experience. ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaqsMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sunday 29th of June 2014 was the day of Dolly at Gllastonbury. But little did I know when I called at the White Hart for breakfast, the stagemanager and two roadies would be in to sort out logistics ........
My parents in law, like Madonna's ex's mother, live in Somerton, and the White Hart is owned by Michael Eavis's next door neighbour .....you begin to get the drift?
This ancient Inn is perfect for a bacon sandwich, a leisurely read of the paper and the staff taking everything for granted!
Round about 11.15 the roadies responsible came in to meet one of the main stage managers festooned with passes for everywhere round her neck. I'm an old hand so I chuckled to myself as one of them wanted a breakfast. "It's after 11" said Natalie behind the bar "and the chef won't be able to cook". Looking crestfallen said roadie asked if the Inn could toast some bread he was carrying!! I ask you .......I pointed at him and said "Beware roadies carring loaves to toast".
I turned to Natalie and said "If you can fix him a breakfast you'll get a really good review" and so it was.
More thanthat my lips are sealed ....mud mud mud mud mud .........

Room Tip: Butter up Natalie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petergoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colsterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ever since the White Hart reopened under new management I can't keep away from the place. Great food, lovely atmosphere and polite and helpful staff. We even had our wedding reception here, all be it very last minute. No longer do need to the leave the village for a civilised drink..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FletcherBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsdon Inn
Kingsdon Inn
#3 of 11 in Somerton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Somerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Somerton

Property: The White Hart Somerton
Address: Market Place, Somerton TA11 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 bedrooms have been beautifully refurbished to the highest standard. Each room is different, individually designed with quirky interior design details. High quality Egyptian bed linen, king and super king size beds to sink into, and tea & coffee making facilities, wifi and smart TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Hart Somerton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Somerton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing