We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house with the wow factor!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Upton Bourn Lodge

Large Lounge with woodburner and surround sound Smart TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Lounge with woodburner and surround sound Smart TV
Kitchen is sociably open plan to the Dining Room Bedroom one
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Large Lounge with woodburner and surround sound Smart TV
Kitchen is sociably open plan to the Dining Room
Bedroom one
Bathroom with rain shower and double ended bath
Dining room with huge Bi Fold windows
On the terrace with Bifold doors open
Eight person sauna
Hot tub with waterfall and stereo
Games room with pool and table football, plus views
Upton Bourn Lodge
Shared Heated Pool
Master bedroom with ensuite
Pool
On the terrace
Dining for 14 plus
'Oxo' woodburner in the lounge
Well equipped kitchen with separate utility
Aerial view of the Lodge surrounded by fields
Dining room sits 14 easily
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Somerton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaW14
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A house with the wow factor!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very much enjoyed our stay at Upton Barn Lodge. Very clean and well equipped. Wifi a bit disappointing though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and private hot tub
Liked least: Lack of fridge in Spring Barn and terrible wifi connection.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukeg0ld
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a week's stay and the whole family loved it. A lovely, well maintained accommodation with all of the essentials as well as the additional luxuries of a pool, hot tub and sauna. Our group ranged in age from 2 to 62, and all had lots of fun. The area, people and the whole experience was wonderful. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a group holiday for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is my 3rd trip here. I have been for birthdays and now a hen do. The house is stunning and definitely has the wow factor. The owner could not do any more to help and was very prompt in responding to my emails when booking. We had such a laugh and we are now looking at booking next year!! The house is so great that to be honest we didn't want to leave to do our activities!! There is not much in the area (some good pubs that do lovely food) but you can book activities in. We arranged therapists to come on and do spa treatments along with a few other things. If you want a beautiful house in a beautiful location where you can get some well earned R&R then this is the place for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool hot tub sauna
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wanda139
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for extended family to stay during a weekend wedding”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived to find a fresh baked cake and tea ready to welcome us besides being personally guided through the facilities.
The Lodge was the central gathering point for meals and the kitchen was well equipped with good quality utensils, serving bowls and plenty of cutlery and crockery. It was ideal with 2 dishwashers, thoroughly well resourced for large numbers. Our fault, but there is one tall silver tubular cupboard which we only discovered towards the end. It had salt and pepper in.
The beds were all comfortable and the flexibility of the sleeping accommodation was really helpful with three generations staying.
The garden and swimming pool, sauna and hot tub were hardly used as we were away from the house for most of the weekend at the wedding and the weather was not sunny but it was lovely to have them as a source of relaxation. The pool table and table football were great.
A couple of light bulbs needed replacing and were immediately the problem was reported.
Very responsive and delightful hosts. The property is maintained very well and the furniture is good quality. Next time I stay I would like to spend more time there and really use the facilities. The house was the perfect place for our family gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellings
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place ever to have a hen few days away with family & close friends”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owner Gill was so helpful with everything leading up to my hen few days away. The property was WOW, amazing house which was well equipped with everything we needed including 2 large fridges & 2 dishwasher which is great if you have a large number of people staying like we did. The house and exterior, patio,hot tub, sauna, and swimming pool were very clean and maintained well. It was in a quiet location which was perfect for us. We had outside caterers come in on our first night which we highly recommend, Gill will give you their number, and we also went to their lovely tea rooms for a champagne tea and their newly opened pub/restaurant next door which is great too with very friendly staff. I can't say anything negative about this place, it was truly amazing, gutted we had to come home and we can't wait to go back, thank you Gill for everything

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's hard to choose
Liked least: Nothing's everything was superb
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place - We've Immediately Rebooked For Next Year !”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a find! The house proved absolutely perfect for our large party of 18 friends and we loved it!

Spacious, comfortable, clean, well-equipped and with our own hot-tub and sauna, and shared use of an outdoor heated swimming pool we had everything we needed. The addition of two large fridges was a happy bonus - essential when you need to chill a lot of wine!

We had a memorably wonderful weekend and have immediately rebooked for next year.

None of us can wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and squashy sofas
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing