We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very shabby hotel”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very shabby hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Like others before room 5 was tatty and dirty, very small and I have seen bigger wardrobes than the en suite. Odd breakfast menu sausage bacon and egg ( thats it). I wouldnt repeat the experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Staff really helpful And friendly, pub busy for a Wednesday, good food menu with a lot of choice.

Able to dine in the restaurant or bar area. Good selection of drinks.

Food was tasty -good grub, nothing special but homely & friendly. Dont be put off if the curtains are closed at 8pm!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The landlord was really helpful, friendly without being familiar and the food was proper English pub meals at good prices.

My Mother tried the freshly caught trio of Cornish fish, pronouncing it delicious, while I went for sauteed mushrooms in cream and garlic to start, followed by steak, ale and mushroom pie.

Nothing fancy, just decent food, sensible pricing and a nice atmosphere. I wish I was more local and could visit regularly.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlesm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I stayed for 1 night prior to the Tour of Wessex cycle race. The Hotel was full, of cyclists, of course, all of whom had an early 7am start for the race the next day. But the nice management at the Hotel forget to mention KARAOKE NIGHT!!!!! It was meant to start at 8.30pm according to the blackboard in the bar, but it was only getting set up at 10pm. It didn't finish, with it's Spinal Tap volumes, until after 12.30pm, (i'm sure the pictures on the walls of our bedroom were shaking), and the quaint locals (i.e pissed and very very loud crowd), didn't leave till about 2.30am.
Cyclists DON'T EVEN THINK OF USING THIS PLACE BEFORE THE TOUR OF WESSEX, everyone else, ask the nice management what entertainment and crowd are expected before you make you reservations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scozzie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerton hotels

Hants u.k
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The evening meal was excellent. Very friendly staff except for stressy landlady who couldnt wait for us to finish our evening meal before she laid up for breakfast. Beds comfy. TV remote u/s, bathroom dirty floor. Wouldnt stay for more than 2 nights. Its a pub with rooms, not a Hotel. coffe very good !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

BAR,
London brewers Youngs products were on sale, prices were higher than London by 50p a pint and higher than all other pubs in the town
RESTURANT
quality food on menu price on the high side but worth it.
Breakfast, only 3 items for full english
ROOMS
room 5 very small, sliding door for small on-suit with massive
gaps round sides, feet hung out of short bed
kettle just kept boiling and generally scuffy and grubby in need
of decorating, cost £70 worth £45

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rex647w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed here for one night on business. My room was spacious although a little cold as I couldnt close the window properly.

Ensuite bathroom was large and spacious.

Evening meal was good, no complaints at all.

Most of all the staff and landlord were great - they made us feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrizBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerton
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
8.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
90 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
986 reviews
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: West Street, Somerton TA11 7PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Somerton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing