We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, though out of our element” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ston Easton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, though out of our element”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

You're staying in a beautiful old country manor home. The floor boards creak, and the furniture and decorating will constant remind you that you're staying in a special place. The gardens and setting are absolutely lovely. We very much enjoyed sitting out back each evening for cocktails.

Staff is friendly and very accommodating. Though the one window opened, our room didn't have much air circulation, and would have been uncomfortably hot and stuffy without a fan that the staff was nice enough to locate for us. We'd be reluctant to return during the warmer summer months.

Enjoyed the one dinner we had there, though (and we are foodies) the dishes were a little too over thought and unnecessarily complex. With the two of us having different plates each course, out of only 4 offerings per course, we sampled half of the available plates in one setting. Since the menu was identical the next night, it made me very glad we'd not chosen the dinner option over multiple nights included when booking. Just a personal preference, but would very much have preferred to see simpler preparations using the fresh local ingredients and providing a somewhat broader selection.

We really wanted to have our remaining dinners at local pubs, and asked at the front desk for recommendations. We were presented with a page of what turned out to be rather out of date suggestions, and it seemed that none of the available staff had ever actually eaten in the area restaurants. One of the two restaurants listed had actually been closed for months before our arrival. Another pub listed as a Steak House had actually been reopened with a completely different menu many months earlier. So don't rely on the staff to help with nearby dining options. But we'd personally recommend Mezze at the Warwick Arms in Clutton and The Somerset Wagon in Chilcompton. Both were superb and only a very short drive.

Breakfast was excellent every day and again the staff and service was wonderful.

We wondered if, as casual travelers, we were staying in an appropriate place, however beautiful. The other guests in the dining and lounge rooms were nearly all elderly and very well dressed. The wife commented that she felt uncomfortable walking through the common rooms in simple smart casual attire. I'm honestly not sure we are in Ston Easton's target market; and felt a little better each time we'd run across some similarly casual couple. Don't know exactly what the inn can do, but would help they'd broaden their appeal to a younger and somewhat more casual base a little over time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UTtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ston Easton and we would not want any of our customers to feel uncomfortable. We welcome your feedback and we are always looking to improve the hotel in any way possible. We do hope that if you are in the area again you may feel like you could try a relaxed afternoon tea possibly on the terrace or snuggled by the fire. Should you wish to further discuss any of the points in your review, please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@stoneaston.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    140
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
83
420
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It a long time since we visited Son Easton .its a beautiful residence in a parkland setting .
We were greeted like family by the manager Brian Jarvis a consummate professional as always .
We have pre dinner drinks in wonderful library accompanied by an onion velouté with pressed beef .through to a busy buzzing restaurant and to a fabulous view from our table across the river in the grounds.
Service was slick ,the waiting staff attentive and friendly .dinner was a dream the chef Mr Moon certainly knows his stuff .
Peppermint tea in the main drawing room to end the evening .
One huge mistake !!!
We should have stayed the night and enjoyed breakfast and a walk around the grounds !
Definitely will do that soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and the fabulous location of Ston Easton Park. We would humbly welcome you back to Ston Easton for an over-night stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
635 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I write as a day visitor. This vast property was owned by a local family. It was taken over by a European hotel company who specialises in turning country houses into hotels.

I can say that first impression was good but there was an impersonal air, almost a vacuum, which I could not quite figure out. The receptionist sits in a little room to the left of the entrance, I should say a cubicle, out of which she tries to function. There is no doubt that the downstairs rooms are elegant.

There was an offer of afternoon tea, so-called full afternoon tea, for £19.95. It was interesting to see that at 3 PM on a sunny afternoon open to the public, only two people were consuming the tea, which looked a little ordinary to me. If you want to charge little less than Fortnum and Mason's or Claridges you have to produce something special. The very smartly attired waiter had a gorgeous smile but that was not enough to entice us to purchase the tea. Other reviewers have written about the tea and I think I need to say no more.

There were many staff wandering around and preparing for special presentations and it is clearly a very smart place for wedding receptions and the like. I got the feeling the staff were not functioning as one, they were there because they were paid to work but I didn't get one smile out of any one of them except the aforementioned waiter.

Something like this needs to be built up and it's not enough to charge high prices for a smart address. Come on management company do your stuff and spend money where it needs to be spent.

By the way the grounds are very fine and down the middle of the property there are at least two springs leading to a small stream. You can tell the people who had been there before because they bought picnics. There are nurseries and plants for sale and a little cottage where people can stay for a premium.

We paid £4 donation to the National Gardens Association for the pleasure of going round the Gardens.

£49.95 for three course meal may be very good value but that would have to be for very special occasions for me to be tempted. There will certainly have to be better accommodation reviews before I would ever stay there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately the hotel is not owned by a European Hotel company and is still privately owned. On the day of the National Open Garden Scheme Tea and Cakes were on offer in the Yellow Dinning room however this was not our full afternoon tea and we apologise if this was miss-leading. We do hope that this experience has not effected you view of Ston Easton Park and we would welcome you back to the hotel. Should you wish to discuss your review further please do contact me on 01761-241631 or gm@stoneaston.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the Pink room, and were not disappointed with the decoration! The Receptionist was friendly, and we enjoyed time relaxing in our room before dinner. Comfortable big bed, nice armchairs, interesting architectural features.

There was a good selection of magazines to peruse, and a lovely view.

A luxurious feeling, a great start to a short holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSH1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. It's brilliant to hear that you had such a lovely experience at Ston Easton Park. We do hope that you will keep us in mind for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is worth a visit but make sure you get the room you booked; it was a shame that we left feeling annoyed that staff members in reception had tried to 'hoodwink' us into thinking we has been given a State room (which we had booked!) when clearly we had not. On arrival we were shown to the Terrace room on the third floor. I queried this with the lady who took us to the room since we had booked a State room, all of which are on the first floor and have 4 poster beds according to the hotel website. She disappeared to check, saying the hotel was full, and came back to say that we were in the correct room since the terrace room was now a State room. I was not happy with this response since it was not what I had booked and so she suggested I go downstairs to talk to a superior in reception. This lady also tried to con me into thinking that the Terrace room was a State room and when I pointed out that the hotel website did not say that she said that perhaps the website had not yet been updated yet. I did not accept that response and pointed out that at the time of booking the Terrace room (a deluxe room) could have been booked at a significantly lower price. I find it very irritating to be treated as a fool. I agreed to stay in the Terrace room (which is nice enough) as long as we paid the price as advertised on the day I booked, which I think was c. £140 cheaper than a State room for 2 nights. This was agreed but on the final invoice only a £40 reduction was applied. Such a shame to have started our trip on a bad note since the hotel is lovely. Nice grounds, super service in the lounge and restaurant and great food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was very much looking forward to my stay at this hotel but was really disappointed.
The rooms are a bit shabby, they have a very dusty looking, nothing special not what you would expect at a hotel like this and for the price. Mould in the bathroom too, which I hate.
The downstairs rooms are nice though and the small restaurant too, warm and nicely decorated.
We waited for over half an hour for our pre-dinner drinks in the library. The room is lovely with a nice log fire shame the service doesn't match it. The drinks never came. In the end we went through to dinner which was very poor quality for the price paid.
This is not a cheap destination and it's just not worth the money. Ok, the building is a stately home
and the public areas are nice but the bedrooms are just sort of old looking not charming.
I would not return. The service and food are not good at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I did not want to post this review, but having emailed the hotel twice now over a space of several weeks, and having received no response at all I feel this is my last option.
Having visited this beautiful hotel many times over the last 30 years, we have to admit that although not being any where near the standard of the Smedley days, it is still a beautiful building. We took our Aunt here for afternoon tea some weeks ago, and have to say we were bitterly disappointed. I should begin by saying that the way it was served by the staff was very professional. We ordered two full teas (1 ordinary and 1 gluten free) between 3 as we have found that one per person is far too much at most venues. The tea, which should be a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach consisted of 3 oblong sandwiches on the ordinary tea, which were not at all delicately cut and looked quite ungainley, the gluten free sandwich was literally a sandwhich cut in half with all the crusts on and again not at all delicate in appearance. The ordinary tea had only "brown" cakes, I think a banana bread being one and a brownie being the other. Similarly the gluten free cakes were both "brown". Where was the fruit cake, the dainty pastries filled with custard and fruit, which should all add colour and make one feel this is a treat, not tea at Grannys house. The scones were good but with very little jam and cream to go round we did not have enough to eat all the scones.We very much felt that our selection of food was pulled from what was left in the larder, despite the fact this was booked a few weeks in advance.
We did not comment on all this at the time which now, having heard nothing back from 2 emails I see was a mistake. We are disappointed with the lack of response from Ston Easton and with the tea overall, we have quite frankly had a better full afternoon tea for less money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank RogerDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ston Easton
6.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
9.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ston Easton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ston Easton Park Hotel

Property: Ston Easton Park Hotel
Address: Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ston Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ston Easton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ston Easton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ston Easton Park Bath
Hotel Ston Easton Park
Ston Easton Park Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing