We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location and great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“stunning location and great rooms”
Reviewed 17 November 2009

a truly beautiful hotel with fantastic rooms and great communal areas - we stayed two nights, had breakfast in bed, a lovely afternoon tea and dinner both nights. the staf were very friendly, good (pricey) food, but a lovely atmosphere all round, service for various meals seemed quite slow, but the manager more than made up for it upon our departure. enjoy a walk around the grounds, a frolic with their dog, games/papers and a fire in the library and you won't want more!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    153
    61
    20
    11
See reviews for
92
442
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We selected Ston Easton Park for a last minutre getaway week-end in the UK ; we reviewed extensively the options in and around Bath. We were repelled by the rates (and mixed reviews) at Lucknam Park, and were dubious about the value for money of the Royal Crescent. One thing leading to another, we stumbled on a member of the Von Essen chain, hence on Ston Easton Park.

We are so glad we did.
They do a great job, and provide a fantastic experience, I would perhaps say more authentic tha a Relais & Chateaux. We enjoyed every minute of it.

We booked a Deluxe on the internet (great site, with pictures of each room), and requested one of either 2 rooms, for a rate of £305 for one night, and £325 for the second night. They followed up on this reservation by proposing to help for any dinner arrangements, including outside.

It is a grade 1 Palladian house with 22 rooms. The front of the house overlooks a croquet lawn and fields, while the back looks on a gentlycascading river. It has been completely refurbished last year, and the result if not stately, is nothing short of perfect. Everything is immaculate (walls, ceilings, stunning plaster works, carpets, upholstery, antiques, ...) and extremely welcoming.

We were allocated Repton, one we had requested, and it was beyond our expectations. Genuine antiques decorating the room, nothing faux, yet a surprisingly modern bathroom, including a separate shower stall fit for two, including 2 rain shower heads (both with adequate pressure), and a stand alone bath tub. Ample supply of excellent Culpeper toiletries, a brand unknown of us, over here on the continent.
Huge king bed, that we thought would be too soft, and proved outstanding. Great lighting. Flat screen TV, and internet port, which I would use under no circunstance. Free mineral water and shortbreads are available.

Sitting rooms downstairs all boast working fireplaces, very comforting with the miserable weather we had, with utterly comfortable sofas. We spent a great deal of time in the library, reading, or having afternoon tea (and a very good one at that).

I was not wild with our dinner experience. We had a great starter of scallops. Main of "Rosé Veal loin", that I had requested not too pink was almost raw and quite mediocre. Wine list was fairly priced. They have a problem with pace. We felt like we were seated for ever. We showed up at 8.00, and ordered a glace of champagne (nothing to nibble). Order was placed at 8.25. We were showed to our table at 8.50, and the starter was only served at 9.15. By then we had eaten 2 rolls each. Main course only showed up at 10.00. By the time we had finished the main course, my short supply of patience had long been consumed, and I could not envision waiting more for dessert. Either the cuisine is understaffed and they can't deliver at the right pace, and this should be fixed, or it is the way they do it there, and it is wrong (to us at least).

Breakfast is included in the room rate. Continental buffet with a wide selection of cereals, yogurts, dried fruits, fresh sliced fruits. Cooked orders are a la carte, and are also included. Despite what I think is advertised, orange and grapefruit juices are not freshly squeezed, but lousy bottled versions. It started all over with the cooked breakfast, which was delivered 25-30 minutes after the order was placed. As I complained, the waitress pointed out that she thought we should finish our cold cuts before bringing over the hot part. What the hell, do not think; just bring the damned order !!! To her defence, the second morning, the order was brought 5 minutes after it had been placed.

Apart from this, we enjoyed every minute of the time we spent there, including those with Oscar the puppy Spaniel (grown-up). We thought ot was a terrific value for money, and a great experience of premium accommodation and service, with style without pretention, attitude or stuffiness, that can be found in some (not all) relais & Chateaux. We are looking forward to more stays in Von Essen facilities.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Beautiful setting, very welcoming staff. Decor not to our taste, but well looked after and not tatty. Our little girls felt like princesses and were treated that way too. they loved it. Food was very good. Very romantic. Thanks. Skip the wookey grotto: a big fat tourist trap.Go see the beautiful surroundings instead.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deppeflep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We recently decided to have a Sunday lunch party at Ston Easton Park to celebrate my Father’s 70th Birthday; we were not disappointed. From our initial meeting with Tom (the Deputy Manager) to the event itself, we were thoroughly impressed. Planning was stress free and changes to arrangements were actioned without question. The day itself could not be faulted. Ston Easton Park is a beautiful hotel and although very grand has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The service was excellent, the food delicious and the staff attentive and friendly. All was expertly overseen by Ian (the General Manager). We would wholeheartedly recommend a visit to Ston Easton Park.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challenger08
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed one night whilst on business. I found the staff extremely helpful and efficient, the hotel beautiful and grand. My room was very large and comfortable with period decor but a modern bathroom. Food is great. This is the type of hotel I willl return to for leisure but I had limited opportunity to experience the full range of its facilities.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed for one night and found all of the staff very friendly, our room was wonderful, The Chinese room, in fact the stay just got better and better. The lovely atmosphere of the hotel is inhanced by the beautiful antique furniture and sumptious furnishings. We invited our daughter and son in law to dinner, aperitifs in the Library followed by a wonderful dinner, the imaginitive and passionate young chef Matthew Butcher uses fresh local produce the result was the very best in fine dining.
Next morning after a light but delightful breakfast we took Oscar, the lovable but yet to be trained springer spanial for a long walk around the grounds and beautiful gardens. All of the staff were so chatty and friendly that we didn't manage to get away till late morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNOOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We were really surprised by how lovely our stay at Ston Easton turned out to be. The Hotel itself is like a bit country house where you felt like a member of the family rather than a guest. While it doesn't have the facilities of other country hotels (no pool/spa or games rooms) it had amazing gardens that were beautiful to walk around. The food was also great and the service couldn't have been better.

Having stayed at some of the best hotels in both the UK and abroad I would have to say that for a night or two this is a great place to relax and do nothing....but with style and excellent service. well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ston Easton
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
968 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
474 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,341 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ston Easton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ston Easton Park Hotel

Property: Ston Easton Park Hotel
Address: Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ston Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ston Easton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ston Easton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ston Easton Park Bath
Hotel Ston Easton Park
Ston Easton Park Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing