We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croft Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had an extended holiday recently at Cross Cottage, one of the excellent Croft Holiday Cottages, in this pretty small coastal village. We received a friendly welcome by the owners and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage had every amenity we needed, and was spotlessly clean and very spacious. It is situated in a very convenient part of Watchet and close to the harbour and the very popular West Somerset Railway. We thoroughly recommend the Croft Holiday Cottages in Watchet. Diana and Ken

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely words about your stay in our Cross cottage. Hope you are both keeping well .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in Corner Cottage, with 3 generations of the family and a dog. Home from home with full kitchen appliances including washing machine if required. Was great having private garden to let the dog out for a run about. All bed linen was supplied, with fresh for the second week.
The kids loved the indoor pool, which was a godsend with the weather not being great. The owners were lovely and helpful and we had a very pleasant stay.
Watchet is a small quiet harbour town, with a few pubs, a Co-op and a few other shops. The cottages are centrally based in town, with the steam railway station close by. It was lovely listening to the steam trains. If you want more than this, you will need to drive out and about in the car.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the cottages as a good base to explore this area of Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 787Michelle787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just about to book our third holiday this year alone in one of these cottages.
Fantastic range of cottages of different sizes set in an oasis of tranquility yet within a few hundred yards of Watchet harbour, shops, pubs and steam railway.
Friendly owners who couldn't be more helpful and hard working in keeping these cottages clean, comfortable and up to date.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in the Oak Barn and the facilities in the accomodation were excellent. Kitchen was well appointed with microwave, dishwasher, large fridge/freezer and dual fuel range. Also if needed there was a washing machine in the under stairs storage. We didn't need the baby facilities but a cot, high chair and safety gate are provided. Only problem we had was that we were unable to turn down the heating as it got too warm for our personal preference.
There is an indoor heated swimming pool that was great for our two children. The pool is small but plenty room for two families to splash about.
The cottages are located within easy walking distance of the shops, pubs and coffee shops. There is small Co-op within walking distance which is great for stocking up the food supplies. There are at least 2 pubs in walking distance that are good for food and welcome families. Don't expect loads of evening entertainment in Watchet, this is a quiet seaside town and any entertainment is of your own making. For eating places with playgrounds for children you would need to travel to Blue Anchor or to Minehead.
We managed to fill a week with loads of things to do within the area on both sunny and wet days. Would recommend staying at Croft Cottages for a week of chilling out and exploring the beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LomasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have stayed at Croft Holiday Cottges many times over the years and keep going back for the outstanding accommodation in an excellent location.
We've stayed in most of the cottages over the years and they are all well appointed, clean and comfortable. We are a family and have taken three generations here on holiday, there is something for everyone.
The owners are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay as relaxing as possible. They really work hard to make your holiday special.
There's a swimming pool which the kids love and it's covered so even on rainy days you can have a splash.
Location wise it's perfect. Watchet is a beautiful place and the harbour is only five minutes walk away as is the station where you can catch a steam train along the coast.
Would we stay again? Of course we would, when you find a gem like this to stay at you keep going back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in Oak Barn for a week and found the accommodation to be of a very high standard. The open plan lounge and kitchen/diner had a lovely warm feel, nicely decorated with interesting nick-nacks and trinkets throughout, and the two bedrooms on the ground floor were bright, clean and comfortable. The en suite and family bathroom were fitted out with modern fixtures and were again, impeccably clean. Sadly we didn't have the weather to spend much time outside but the walled garden at the front of the barn would be perfect if you are lucky enough to see a bit of sun during your stay!

Croft Holiday Cottages are centrally based in lovely Watchet, in walking distance of the small town which has several pubs, lots of little shops and a fab Co-op which we found invaluable, having an 18 month old. We found the barn to be a great place to explore the area, with Exmoor and lots of quaint towns and villages in easy reach by road or the brilliant steam railway, which our little boy absolutely loved.

In all, we would definitely recommend this accommodation and would have no hesitation in returning again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in the Oak Barn. An excellent property with everything we needed for a self-catering week's holiday. Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated throughout. Good garden area which our grandchild enjoyed playing in (however, our only criticism would be that the play equipment wasn't given the same standard of care as the rest of the property). The owner was friendly and helpful.
A good location for touring the area (eg Minehead, Dunster, Taunton).
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
224 reviews
4.9 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Holiday Cottages

Property: Croft Holiday Cottages
Address: Anchor Street | Somerset, Watchet TA23 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Croft Holiday Cottages Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing