We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak Barn & Cider Barn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Have just returned from a weekend away staying at Croft Cottages in Watchet. Had an absolutely fantastic time in this beautiful converted barn.

The natural light filters into the living and dining area to give lovely natural light into the room. We found the place to be very well equipt with a lovely main bathroom and an en-suite with shower. The kitchen is large, well equipt (cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, extractor fan and plenty of cuttlery, crockery and utensils).

The accommodation is slightly set back from the village high street which poses many local trade shops and nice cafes and pubs. There is also a very pretty marina just a two minute walk away.

The upstairs living area is massive, with lovely high ceilings from the barn. It has some lovely unusual decor to add some character. Furnished with comfortable leather sofas and has TV, DVD and freeview, as well as balcony overlooking the village street and a view down towards the marina. It was perfect for hosting our friends who were staying in the slightly smaller barn (cider).
The ground floor has a spacious modern bathroom as well as two clean, good sized rooms. Bedding and pillows were comfy and we all slept like logs each night (although slightly assisted by Somerset ciders and wine).

All in all we had an absolutely perfect weekend and it was a great setting for two very special occasions. Would love to return soon.

Many thanks

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for your delightful script regarding your stay in Oak and Cider Barn's. We are pleased to know that you had a great time and appreciated your surrounding's. Come back and see us again with your friends you will be more than welcome :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in one of the Linhay cottages which was quite nice, but just starting to drop below four stars if I am honest. The carpets are in need of a clean, the sofas a bit stained, saggy and cheap and the out side table and chairs in need of repair and painting.The accomodation itself was spotless but some updating on these areas mentioned would bring it back to four stars.

The accommodation had comfortable beds and was well equipped with cooking equipment and there were nice touches such as a few bin bags, washing up liquid, one toilet roll, one hand wash soap etc.

Before you book make sure you check out their terms and conditions which we were fine with, but make no mistake these rules will be pushed at you in the cupboards you open, on some of the walls, in the welcome pack, in the bedrooms, in fact I was quite put off this place because the owners had stuck these little reminders everywhere. It was these notes such as on the inside of the crockery cupboards saying things like "any breakages must be paid for" that made me look far more closely at the property than I usually would and if the owner is reading this, I hope you take the signs down. We didn't break anything, but when people are paying up to nearly £800, are you really going to charge for a broken cup? Just keep it in the info pack and leave the rules there, its meant to be like a home from home isn't it?
As for dog friendly, no, Dog tolerant. Dogs are not allowed to be left in the cottages, not allowed in bedrooms or on the low dog level sofa and if they find pet hair you get charged (the rules say). They will also lend you an extra strong hoover to clean the place before you leave you are told in the literature which again annoyed me at the time:)
On a plus point the pool is lovely, though the opening times should be more flexible that 10-7, maybe 7am-7pm so active adults can swim before the kids are dive bombing?
Nice location too.Beach is muddy so take spare shoes:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanessaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had an extended holiday recently at Cross Cottage, one of the excellent Croft Holiday Cottages, in this pretty small coastal village. We received a friendly welcome by the owners and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage had every amenity we needed, and was spotlessly clean and very spacious. It is situated in a very convenient part of Watchet and close to the harbour and the very popular West Somerset Railway. We thoroughly recommend the Croft Holiday Cottages in Watchet. Diana and Ken

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely words about your stay in our Cross cottage. Hope you are both keeping well .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in Corner Cottage, with 3 generations of the family and a dog. Home from home with full kitchen appliances including washing machine if required. Was great having private garden to let the dog out for a run about. All bed linen was supplied, with fresh for the second week.
The kids loved the indoor pool, which was a godsend with the weather not being great. The owners were lovely and helpful and we had a very pleasant stay.
Watchet is a small quiet harbour town, with a few pubs, a Co-op and a few other shops. The cottages are centrally based in town, with the steam railway station close by. It was lovely listening to the steam trains. If you want more than this, you will need to drive out and about in the car.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the cottages as a good base to explore this area of Somerset.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 787Michelle787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just about to book our third holiday this year alone in one of these cottages.
Fantastic range of cottages of different sizes set in an oasis of tranquility yet within a few hundred yards of Watchet harbour, shops, pubs and steam railway.
Friendly owners who couldn't be more helpful and hard working in keeping these cottages clean, comfortable and up to date.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in the Oak Barn and the facilities in the accomodation were excellent. Kitchen was well appointed with microwave, dishwasher, large fridge/freezer and dual fuel range. Also if needed there was a washing machine in the under stairs storage. We didn't need the baby facilities but a cot, high chair and safety gate are provided. Only problem we had was that we were unable to turn down the heating as it got too warm for our personal preference.
There is an indoor heated swimming pool that was great for our two children. The pool is small but plenty room for two families to splash about.
The cottages are located within easy walking distance of the shops, pubs and coffee shops. There is small Co-op within walking distance which is great for stocking up the food supplies. There are at least 2 pubs in walking distance that are good for food and welcome families. Don't expect loads of evening entertainment in Watchet, this is a quiet seaside town and any entertainment is of your own making. For eating places with playgrounds for children you would need to travel to Blue Anchor or to Minehead.
We managed to fill a week with loads of things to do within the area on both sunny and wet days. Would recommend staying at Croft Cottages for a week of chilling out and exploring the beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LomasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have stayed at Croft Holiday Cottges many times over the years and keep going back for the outstanding accommodation in an excellent location.
We've stayed in most of the cottages over the years and they are all well appointed, clean and comfortable. We are a family and have taken three generations here on holiday, there is something for everyone.
The owners are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay as relaxing as possible. They really work hard to make your holiday special.
There's a swimming pool which the kids love and it's covered so even on rainy days you can have a splash.
Location wise it's perfect. Watchet is a beautiful place and the harbour is only five minutes walk away as is the station where you can catch a steam train along the coast.
Would we stay again? Of course we would, when you find a gem like this to stay at you keep going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watchet hotels
2.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
192 reviews
0 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
4.2 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
68 reviews
2 mi away
No photo provided
Monkscider House
#4 of 5 in Washford
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Holiday Cottages

Address: Anchor Street | Somerset, Watchet TA23 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Croft Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft Holiday Cottages Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing