We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croft Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We could not ask for more from our stay in Watchet. We stayed in bungalow 1a and it was more than adequate for us and our little westie. We were welcomed when we arrived and each day we were asked how things were. The great little touch of milk, sugar, teabags, coffee and biscuits was a really kind thing to leave for guests. As to Watchet it is such a charming place. Lots of lovely walks and the place is very dog friendly too which was great for us. The area of Exmoor is just heavenly and further into Devon is easily reached too. Oh and we mustn't forget the West Somerset Railway which runs along the bottom of the garden! We can't fault Croft holiday cottages and have been coming for a while and will certainly be back again next year. Thank you to our hosts for maintaining a high standard xx

Room Tip: The bungalows are lovely for 2 people and dogs are allowed too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStowMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Many thanks for your kindness. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted with your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Kirsten Andrew and Lesley made our holiday in June a fantastic break . The welcome was very
warm and informative with there great knowledge of the area we were able to enjoy every minute .Our accommodation was very clean modern and everything we needed for our stay . I can not recommend the cottages enough and Watchet as a lovely place to visit . Looking forward to visiting again as this is one of the few places we have holidayed at and could not fault
. P S hope you enjoyed the fresh caught trout .

Room Tip: All Cottages are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Many thanks for your delightful review of your stay at Croft Holiday Cottages. We would be happy to see you again in the future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay in the Cider Barn with our two year old son.
The accommodation was light, airy, and beautifully clean. Our little boy especially enjoyed hearing the whistle of the steam trains each day.
The pool was very clean and we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves each time we went in. The temperature was great and my husband was able to sit and have a read whilst I introduced our son to the wonders of swimming! His fist experience of being in a pool was fantastic as it was quiet and there weren't hoards of people splashing him.
There are some lovely things to do in the area and we can recommend the Tall Trees Walk near Dunster if you have toddler/buggy/wheelchair as it has accessible paths.
There are two play areas in Watchet with swings/slides etc for little ones to burn off energy.
We can thoroughly recommend a stay in the Cider Barn and look forward to a return trip soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found plenty to do out and about !
Glad that you liked Cider barn and we would love you to re-visit in the future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Currently staying in "Low Barn" and from the moment we arrived and were given a guided tour the place just oozes luxury. Set in a beautiful little old village, the peace and quiet is just what we were looking for. I can easily say that this is the best self catering accommodation I have ever stayed in.Low Barn is only for two people but is very spacious, very comfortable and luxurious too. A very nice touch was there is tea, coffee milk sugar etc, waiting for you as you arrive. For the best priced accommodation and comfort I couldn`t recommend this place highly enough. The village of Watchet is only small but has seven public houses, all different and all with different ales and local ciders to sample. I would definitely come and stay here again and recommend anyone to do the same. I give this accommodation 10/10

Room Tip: Look online to decide which accommodation to stay in. Low barn is so big for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank trapper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
What a fantastic review ........Many thanks !
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your gracious and positive comments.
We would be pleased to see you return and wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a 7 day stay in Oak Barn and had a brilliant break. Weather was kind to us for most of the week, but this base is a good one for good or bad weather.
Everything we needed was on hand including a the pool which my adult son enjoyed. We were given a warm welcome and introduction to the cottage and the bottle of wine and box of chocolates was a nice surprise.
For anyone staying here or locally we recommend a trip to the Exmoor Falconry and owl centre West Lynch Farm, Allerford, Not far away and a great day out for anyone who loves birds. The owner was full of interesting facts and a real expert. We enjoyed watching the birds flying and having real close up views - excellent for photography.
Dunster castle is a gem and the castle café in the village did excellent food with really friendly service.
For railway buffs this cottage is a must - 2 mins walk to steam railway and it was lovely to hear the sounds of the steam trains.
All in all an excellent family holiday,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Glad to know that you enjoyed Oak barn and had a comfortable stay. You certainly seem to have explored the vicinity and had a thoroughly great time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from 2 nights in Cider Croft cottage - gorgeous, comfortable cottage. Made to fee very welcome by the owners - who provided us with a welcome pack (bread, eggs, bacon, sausages, milk and cake). Visited Monmouth and Forest of Dean and local pubs!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Not us at The Croft but sounds great :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend away staying at Croft Cottages in Watchet. Had an absolutely fantastic time in this beautiful converted barn.

The natural light filters into the living and dining area to give lovely natural light into the room. We found the place to be very well equipt with a lovely main bathroom and an en-suite with shower. The kitchen is large, well equipt (cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, extractor fan and plenty of cuttlery, crockery and utensils).

The accommodation is slightly set back from the village high street which poses many local trade shops and nice cafes and pubs. There is also a very pretty marina just a two minute walk away.

The upstairs living area is massive, with lovely high ceilings from the barn. It has some lovely unusual decor to add some character. Furnished with comfortable leather sofas and has TV, DVD and freeview, as well as balcony overlooking the village street and a view down towards the marina. It was perfect for hosting our friends who were staying in the slightly smaller barn (cider).
The ground floor has a spacious modern bathroom as well as two clean, good sized rooms. Bedding and pillows were comfy and we all slept like logs each night (although slightly assisted by Somerset ciders and wine).

All in all we had an absolutely perfect weekend and it was a great setting for two very special occasions. Would love to return soon.

Many thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Owner at Croft Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for your delightful script regarding your stay in Oak and Cider Barn's. We are pleased to know that you had a great time and appreciated your surrounding's. Come back and see us again with your friends you will be more than welcome :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
696 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
4.9 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#2 of 14 in Watchet
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Holiday Cottages

Property: Croft Holiday Cottages
Address: Anchor Street | Somerset, Watchet TA23 0BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watchet
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Croft Holiday Cottages Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing