We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very very good”
Review of The Spice Merchant

The Spice Merchant
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very very very good”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Set in lovely watchet ,a jewel in the crown a great Indian restaurant
Fantastic food.just ask and they can vary any dish to your liking
We have not lived in town for long but will be a regular

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    50
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious curry house hidden away in a Somerset village”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a great meal at The Spice Merchant. There was a wide and varied menu to choose from. Ingredients seemed high quality and the different spices used were noticeable in all the dishes we sampled. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VCR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recommended by the cottage we stayed in. Food was excellent - tasty and spicy. Excellent service from all the staff and we felt very welcomed (not always experienced when staff know you are on hols and not local so are unlikely to be back in the near future)
This restaurant is a gem I would recommend to anyone visiting Watchet or the local area.
Thanks to all the staff for making our visit so enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wallies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Cannot go without a curry while on holiday so was surprised to see this Indian restaurant in such a small place like Watchet
Decided to order a take a way for eating later on.Entered the restaurant 15 mins after opening time and was surprised to see a few people puting their orders in and also another member of staff taking telephone orders.This to me was a good sign.
Both our meals were excellent good flavour and strength with huge portions and reasonable prices.Wish this restautant was located in Torquay.
Compliments to the staff and chef.

John & Sue
Torquay

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in the West (somerset)”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in Watchet for a few days at the local Haven holiday park. We decided to have an Indian take away and ordered from The Spice Merchant restaurant.We can only agree with the other positive reviews that the quality of their food excellent, sag paneer is to die for !!!!! Only wish we had booked a table and made a evening of it.
Best wishes to all the staff
Denise & Richard

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Merchant also viewed

 
Watchet, Somerset
 

Been to The Spice Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing