We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Local Perspective.”
Review of Pebbles Tavern

Pebbles Tavern
Ranked #1 of 1 Bars & Pubs in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Pebbles Tavern has been voted CAMRA Somerset Branch Cider Pub of the Year and South West Region Cider Pub of the Year both in 2014 & 2015. This covers the areas of Devon, Cornwall, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Swindon and borders, Gloucestershire and North Wiltshire. We were also Regional winners in the Cider Pub category for 'The Great British Pub Awards' 2015. We specialise in real traditional ciders and have a large selection of these. We also serve Real Ale straight from the cask, no pipes, from our quirky tap room. We have a large selection of single malts as well as Somerset cider brandys from local Burrowhill (the only legal distiller of cider brandy in Europe), a large selection of Gins & Rums. Also red and white wines of quality. We have locally produced apple juices from Herbi4 apple juice company. These are apples from orchards across the Quantocks, just like the Mad Apple cider we supply. Please come and enjoy our natural organic atmosphere, not to mention our regular live music events. Please see our website for full details of events. We no longer serve food but are more than happy for people to eat their fish and chips from the Harbour fish & chip bar next door.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Local Perspective.”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is quite an unusual 'locals bar' insomuch as it welcomes visitors and involves them. It is one of the friendliest bars I have ever been into.
Now to business,we didn't eat at Pebbles but we did sample a few of the excellent ciders - not all on one night though ! Our favourites were 'Rich's' but there is a cider for every palate.
I would wholeheartedly recommend Pebbles Bar to one and all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golani49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryL592, Owner at Pebbles Tavern, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we now longer serve food but we have more cider now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    29
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mecca for appreciators of music and real cider”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Pebbles Bar is the destination of choice for visitors to Watchet who appreciate real cider. The bar boasts a choice of 12 ranging from Rich’s Farmhouse cider at a very reasonable £2 a pint (June 2012) to more commercial offerings from local producers such as Thatchers, Westons and Henney's. Here is where the locals go to relax and there are no airs or graces, so leave your glad rags behind. The layout betrays its roots as a café/diner but now it has abandoned offering food to become a proper bar providing beers, wines and spirits. It is open 6 days a week, from noon until mid-evening, being closed on Wednesdays. The walls are decorated with murals and song quotes and there is usually an eclectic range of music being played. There is live acoustic music on the first Friday of each month. The bar makes full use of technology and is usually showing horse racing or sport unobtrusively on a big screen near the bar as well as offering free wi-fi (witness scruffy characters producing Apple ipads from hidden poacher pockets). It is dog friendly and often there will be quite a few furry friends amongst the customers. If you do get hungry the fish and chip shop is next door but one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryL592, Owner at Pebbles Tavern, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This little bar was obviously where the locals went. There was an amazing choice of ciders as well as characters. Food was simple but good. Nice relaxed service . would recommend a looksee, and a cider or two. We listened to live music and sea shanty singing. Great fun.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gonzodog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryL592, Owner at Pebbles Tavern, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we now longer serve food but we have more cider now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

***** excellent *****
Good meeting place. ***** More Guinness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IpBoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pebbles Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pebbles Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing