We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bar”
Review of Pebbles Tavern

Pebbles Tavern
Ranked #1 of 1 Bars & Pubs in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Pebbles Tavern has been voted CAMRA Somerset Branch Cider Pub of the Year and South West Region Cider Pub of the Year both in 2014 & 2015. This covers the areas of Devon, Cornwall, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Swindon and borders, Gloucestershire and North Wiltshire. We were also Regional winners in the Cider Pub category for 'The Great British Pub Awards' 2015. We specialise in real traditional ciders and have a large selection of these. We also serve Real Ale straight from the cask, no pipes, from our quirky tap room. We have a large selection of single malts as well as Somerset cider brandys from local Burrowhill (the only legal distiller of cider brandy in Europe), a large selection of Gins & Rums. Also red and white wines of quality. We have locally produced apple juices from Herbi4 apple juice company. These are apples from orchards across the Quantocks, just like the Mad Apple cider we supply. Please come and enjoy our natural organic atmosphere, not to mention our regular live music events. Please see our website for full details of events. We no longer serve food but are more than happy for people to eat their fish and chips from the Harbour fish & chip bar next door.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing bar”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great locally produced ciders and ales, loved the atmosphere, locals and bar men made us feel very welcome.

No food, but fish and chips next door are delicious, and you can bring it in!
Don't miss it!


  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    29
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Cleeve, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small bar offers a range of traditional ciders and beer as well as single malt whiskeys. It does bot serve meals but you are welcome to get a takaway and eat it in Pebbles. There is a fish and chip shop 2 doors away.
The landlord can put you in touch with boat owners who run fishing trips and will help you out with local information

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnG4BQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely way to spend a couple of hours!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Planned to come here a few days ago as part of my birthday celebrations, and I'm so glad we did! Made to feel very welcome from the moment we entered the bar! Not the biggest but for me this added to the attraction - a great atmosphere inside even with only a few people! Found out a lot about local ciders from the very helpful barman, and tasted quite a few from the very large selection (made my usual cider from pub taste like a poor relation)! Next time around hubbie wants to start on the local ales! Thoroughly recommend spending a few hours here if you are anywhere in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exmoor-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I took my 3 friends to Pebbles bar in Watchet to see if it was still the great place I remembered from a previous break in Somerset. Well I was not disappointed the great atmosphere is still there and we received a great welcome from the super friendly landlord who after getting an idea of the sort of cider we were looking for gave us 4 free samples to try to help us decide. So we had got off to a flying start! One of my friends went to order more drinks while we were chatting to the lady of the house. He had started on cider brandy after another chat with the landlord. We stayed for a further two rounds during which time we were treated to musical entertainment with fiddlers and guitarists jamming in folksy style it was great.We reluctantly left quite early to get fish and chips at the shop next door before driving back to our holiday home at Blue Anchor. What a fabulous place Pebbles is. By the way, we called in again on our way back home on Monday and yet again received a really warm welcome and chat. You really must visit Pebbles it may be small but the atmosphere is massive, the ciders are great, and you can't fail to have a great time

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, would recommend!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside it doesn't look very welcoming, but as soon as you get inside the locals are very welcoming and friendly! The pints were at a decent price, with a large variety of local ciders of course! We spilt our drink and they offered to fill it up for USB also dog friendly. Although
small, there is a lot of personality in here! Would definitely recommend it over other local bars and pubs, as they always seem dead and aren't very welcoming!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan_Hattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pebbles Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pebbles Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing