We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea View ??”

The Mariner Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mariner Guest House
Ranked #11 of 14 Watchet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in the Admirals Room at the front of the B&B, a lovely room with ensuite shower room. The whole place is very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great breakfast with cereals, fruit salad,yoghurt as well as full English available. I can't fault the guest house at all... Except, the room is advertised as having stunning sea views. I suppose you can actually see the sea but is spoilt by building work on a huge sea wall. See photo
So I'd recommend the Mariner , just don't expect "stunning sea views"

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our first time at The Mariner B&B and we were very happy with it. The Admirals suite was very comfortable and spacious as was the bathroom with two sinks and large shower.
The continental breakfast was really good, trying Gena's homemade jams, yogurt's and mini rolls were delicious.
Gena and Chris have made a warm, cosy and inviting B&B, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Admirals Suite has a telescope and binoculars, very useful for looking over toward Wales
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yme60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've stayed in the Mariner 3 times now and love it. The rooms are really comfortable and clean. Both rooms we've stayed in have had lovely bathrooms with big showers. The owners are really friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are lovely and make a change from the usual full English - waking up to the smell of the croissants and muffins baking is wonderful. A really lovely place - well worth a try. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennwba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed here twice now while i was working in Taunton. Once in 2010 and again in April this year. Both times we have been very impressed with everything about this b&b. We stayed in the Admirals suite which is tastefully decorated and has a telescope looking out through the large window out to south wales over the Severn estuary. We really liked this feature. By far the best thing about this place is the continental breakfast. Fresh home baked croissants, pastries and bread with the hosts home made jams and fresh fruit, Lovely! I will always come back to this place when in the area.

Room Tip: Admirals suite is the best room with a large bathroom, great showers and 2 sinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have never written a review before, but I was so impressed with this B&B I couldn't resist. Really clean and lovely room, great attention to detail, superb location. The owners couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. They serve a continental breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, freshly baked croissants and English muffins served with home made jam (which we thought was so yummy we actually brought a couple of jars from them) and all the tea, coffee and juice you can drink. The Indian restaurant next door is amazing, I wish my local curry house served such tasty food. The little Marina village is Adorable and is right by the coast.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAndAnna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

stayed, 6-8 april 2012, rooms very clean and comfy, stayed as a party of bikers, very nice owners, made very welcome, plenty of tea/coffee in rooms, to keep us going, excellent location, small old fishing village, plenty to do locally, recommended,

Room Tip: all rooms are v/good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valucol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here two years ago so regime may have changed.
Lovely clean tastfully furnished rooms and comfy beds so can't be faulted.
Excellent value if a couple at £60-75
However the price of the family suite is far too high for a family.
We paid £120 for two parents, a 4 year old and an 8 year old which was to be frank surreal pricing. In fact we only stayed because it was booked by a relative who didn't warn us of the price.
Very unusual to only provide a continental breakfast as basically you're stuck with bread products and cereals to pad out the healthy fruit stuff ( no great value if you're gluten intolerant) especially at the rate we were paying.
In summary excellent value for a couple who don't insist on a cooked breakfast. If you are a family try and negotiate a better rate for the family suite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambamsambam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watchet hotels
0.1 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
134 reviews
2.2 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Monkscider House
#4 of 5 in Washford
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Guest House

Address: 14 Market Street, Watchet TA23 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Mariner Guest House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing