We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super B & B”

The Mariner Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mariner Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Watchet B&B and Inns
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super B & B”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just spent three lovely nights at The Mariner and cannot praise it highly enough! It's quite the best b & b we've stayed in. The decor and size of our room (we stayed in the Captains Quarters) were excellent. And the en-suite itself was bigger than some rooms we've stayed in in the past! We cannot fault the attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff. The website states only continental breakfast was available, but we were offered a full English breakfast too. There was plenty of fresh fruit salad and yoghurts to go with the cereals, toast, croissants and pan au chocolat, not to mention the endless possibilities of how you want your eggs cooked! Tea or coffee and fruit juice completed the breakfast menu. What more could anyone ask for? The sea wall opposite the b & b was the only down side but you could see over it to the Welsh coast, and the binoculars provided were very useful. Watchet itself is charming and not over commercialised. There is a local steam railway that runs from Minehead to Bishops Lydeard, stopping at Watchet to pick up passengers. This is a trip worth going on for those who are in a nostalgic frame of mind or for others to experience travel as it used to be, and is a great way to view the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton Warwickshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Mariner Guest House. Our room, The Master's Cabin was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome and comfortable. Free parking at the rear of the property makes this a great little place to stay. Watchet Harbour has everything you need with plenty of places to eat and drink. We will definitely be re-booking this gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in the Admirals Room at the front of the B&B, a lovely room with ensuite shower room. The whole place is very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great breakfast with cereals, fruit salad,yoghurt as well as full English available. I can't fault the guest house at all... Except, the room is advertised as having stunning sea views. I suppose you can actually see the sea but is spoilt by building work on a huge sea wall. See photo
So I'd recommend the Mariner , just don't expect "stunning sea views"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our first time at The Mariner B&B and we were very happy with it. The Admirals suite was very comfortable and spacious as was the bathroom with two sinks and large shower.
The continental breakfast was really good, trying Gena's homemade jams, yogurt's and mini rolls were delicious.
Gena and Chris have made a warm, cosy and inviting B&B, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Admirals Suite has a telescope and binoculars, very useful for looking over toward Wales
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yme60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've stayed in the Mariner 3 times now and love it. The rooms are really comfortable and clean. Both rooms we've stayed in have had lovely bathrooms with big showers. The owners are really friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are lovely and make a change from the usual full English - waking up to the smell of the croissants and muffins baking is wonderful. A really lovely place - well worth a try. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennwba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed here twice now while i was working in Taunton. Once in 2010 and again in April this year. Both times we have been very impressed with everything about this b&b. We stayed in the Admirals suite which is tastefully decorated and has a telescope looking out through the large window out to south wales over the Severn estuary. We really liked this feature. By far the best thing about this place is the continental breakfast. Fresh home baked croissants, pastries and bread with the hosts home made jams and fresh fruit, Lovely! I will always come back to this place when in the area.

Room Tip: Admirals suite is the best room with a large bathroom, great showers and 2 sinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have never written a review before, but I was so impressed with this B&B I couldn't resist. Really clean and lovely room, great attention to detail, superb location. The owners couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. They serve a continental breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, freshly baked croissants and English muffins served with home made jam (which we thought was so yummy we actually brought a couple of jars from them) and all the tea, coffee and juice you can drink. The Indian restaurant next door is amazing, I wish my local curry house served such tasty food. The little Marina village is Adorable and is right by the coast.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAndAnna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watchet hotels
0.1 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#1 of 9 in Watchet
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 9 in Watchet
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Guest House

Property: The Mariner Guest House
Address: 14 Market Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Mariner Guest House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing