We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beacon.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chives Deli

Chives Deli
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Watchet
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Beacon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

To be frank,Watchet is not renown for its rich dining culture and we were beginning to lose heart when we discovered Chives Deli. All of the food is prepared freshly,the service is excellent and not a chip in sight ! The cream teas are superb !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Golani49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    22
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Food - Happy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Found this Deli / Cafe while wandering round Watchet, and we were really glad we gave it a try.
The staff were happy and bright, and the menu was varied and fresh. Although it was busy, our order arrived promptly, and the sandwiches and salads were tasty and fresh, with some unusal flavours, and the coffee was good too. Everthing we had was really nice and very good value including things like Bottle Green drinks that some places charge as if it was champagne. We shall return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcd81bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The first morning we visited the deli, the coffee was excellent and we were served very quickly by a very pleasant guy. We decided to return for breakfast - what a disappointment - the guy who served us before must have had a day off - we sat waiting to be served for at least 10 minutes whilst the staff chatted - when the coffee arrived it was so weak you could see through it! The second batch was much better but not great and the scrambled eggs were dry and served on thin toast that was not too fresh - a disappointment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayS1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Nothing too much trouble, late afternoon,closing up, but still cut us some cheese. Very chatty, friendly, good service, great menu. Bread pudding..wow..got to get more. Well worth a visit. Will certainly return. Others could learn a lot from this little gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Stopped at Watchet on or way through at lunchtime & found this little deli cafe. Nothing flash on the outside but very nice food with large servings. Particularly enjoyed the scones. Coffee was ok but Australian visitors should ask for extra strong. Very good overall.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chives Deli also viewed

Watchet, Exmoor National Park
Watchet, Exmoor National Park
 
Watchet, Exmoor National Park
Watchet, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Chives Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing