We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stylish boutique accomodation in Watchet,Somerset - Swain House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #1 of 9 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Stylish boutique accomodation in Watchet,Somerset - Swain House”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked a weekend away during September 2012, at Swain House in Watchet,Somerset.As soon as we entered Swain House,the exquisite decor was immediately evident and we knew we were in for a very special stay.We were greeted by Jason,who immediately offered us refreshments before taking us up to our rooms.Infact Jason had been extremely helpful even before our stay,I asked him to recommend somewhere for dinner and he not only telephoned me but also went to the trouble of emailing over a number of suitable restaurants/pubs.We ate at The Culbone,which I highly recommend.

Our bedroom was just delightful - spotlessly clean,with a gloriously comfortable king size bed and an ensuite bathroom that was quite simply one of the best we have ever experienced.Then there was the tray with cafetiere and "proper" coffee,teapot and sugar tongs.In the bedside cabinet there was even an Ipod docking station! It is the attention to detail that Jason and Annie have executed to perfection alongside considered and innovative design throughout the Swain House.

Watchet itself is a truely lovely harbour town,steeped in history with its own delightful Marina.It makes an excellent base to visit Somerset and indeed Devon.We would recommend Swain House unreservedly to anyone and are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi Ann, Mark and Harry,
So very pleased you had a nice time at Swain House, we look forward to your return with you brothers. I do hope you had a nice trip to Dunster Castle and had the time to see Bossington Beach before heading home.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Thankfully we found this gem before we booked anywhere else! Gorgeous renovation, with modern comforts and an amazing fit out - that somehow doesn't feel out of place in the traditional fishing town of Whatchet.

While searching for accommodation in Watchet, I was worried we would have to settle for a very old fashioned 'frilly' guest house.

As luck would have it, Swain House, a new, renovated BnB was recommended and what a lovely spot.

Owner/operator Jason met us on arrival and was lovely for our whole stay.

Breakfast, served in the downstairs communal lounge area, was delicious.

Fresh coffee and truffles were a nice surprise in our room when we arrived.

I would not hesitate recommending this spot to anyone.

Both beautiful, comfortable and tasteful in decoration and fit out.

Five stars, well deserved - we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz_Mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hi Marianne & Dan,
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Swain House. I do hope you come back again with friends and enjoy another fishing trip! Again thanks and I'm glad you liked the homemade truffles...

Kind Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This new b&b is certainly eye candy for those of us who appreciate good design and enjoy seeing new life breathed into what might otherwise be another empty shop building littering our small British towns. Lots of TLC has been taken over the renovation of this property, the house is a joy to be in, great beds, bathrooms and social area/breakfast room. Detail is impeccable - from ipod docking stations in the bedrooms to welcoming home baked flapjack on arrival. The owners have put a lot of thought into making their guests feel welcome, Jason was truly an excellent host.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hi John,
Thank you for the review, most kind. I do hope you both had a lovely walk after you left us and found Bossington beach. If you are in the area again, do come and stay, or at least pop i for a coffee.

Kind Regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
647 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
247 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 9 in Watchet
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Court Farm Holiday Bungalows Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Property: Swain House
Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing