We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #1 of 9 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this lovely hotel at the last minute and what a delight. Everything was perfect. Jason was helpful, advising us where to eat & booking the table for us. The bedroom was great and had everything you could ask for including fresh milk & chocolate brownies. Well done !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Swain House is what every small hotel should aspire to. Beautiful, contemporary rooms. Lovely little touches such as chocolate brownies and REN bath products. Jason was very helpful and breakfast was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Watchet is a pretty little town and the hotel is only a minute walk from the Harbour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1crograv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We attended a family wedding at nearby St Audries and wanted to stay close by. After searching online and coming across endless holiday homes, we found Swain House in Watchet.

On arrival, we was able to check in early, Jason was friendly and we changed ready for the wedding.

Our entire stay was faultless, the room stunning, beautiful bathroom with Ren toiletries plus extra lovely touches.

Again we arrived early for breakfast which wasn't an issue. The veggie breakfast was lovely and we heading out just after 9am.

Most defiantly the best B&B in the area, of hotel quality in much smaller proportions.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DamienDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blockley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Great decor, rooms, breakfast - everything about our stay here was fantastic and did not disappoint. Jason couldn't have been more helpful with recommendations and local knowledge. Well positioned, SH is only a quick walk to the harbour/marina pubs, cafés etc. Watchet has more that its fair share of history, yet not that touristy so it felt genuine and authentic. Great business and a great brand in the making. We'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed just for one night at Swain House. I had a good feeling even before we arrived thanks to the good communications from Jason, offering help with places to go/eat. We stayed in Room 4 and weren't disappointed. The room was spotless and very stylishly designed. The bathroom was fabulous - large stand-alone bath with walk-in shower with option of two shower heads. The only slight niggle I had with the room was that the windows went down almost to the floor, which meant that to get any privacy we had to completely close the blackout blinds. Net curtains aren't generally that attractive I suppose but functional! The bed - well I possibly had the best night's sleep I've had in a long time.

Breakfast was very good, with all guests eating at a large communal table. This was fine for us, but others may prefer a little more privacy.

All in all well recommended, and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisarrayNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Super-stylish, comfortable, & friendly -- everything you want from a B&B and then some. The room and bathroom were significantly better than many a 5-star hotel: fabulous design, wonderful bathroom with gorgeous slipper bath + walk-in shower. Jason is a superb host and full of excellent recommendations for walks, eats and drinks. Watchet is charming and untouristy; Exmoor is perfect walking country. Dunster and the castle are must-sees and only a short drive away. Did I mention the breakfasts? Pancakes in particular not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a fantastic 3 night stay at Swain House. The rooms are stunning, luxuriously furnished and immaculately clean. Large slipper bath and separate shower, REN toiletries. Comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities with fresh brownies left every day.
Jason was the perfect host and had clearly put a lot of thought into making guests feel welcome, he gave us tips for visits and places to eat. The breakfasts were delicious and cooked to perfection, with plenty of choice. You sit at a big trestle table with the other guests and it all felt very sociable and relaxed. A choice of newspapers were provided each day too.
Watchet is a beautiful harbour town, with it's own marina and overall has a lovely ambience.
The surrounding countryside and coastline are beautiful and you can take the stream train from Watchet along the coastline. Dunster Castle is a short drive (or train ride) away and is well worth a visit. We would absolutely recommend Swain House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 9 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Property: Swain House
Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing