We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #3 of 14 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Swain House is a thoroughly excellent place to stay. The owners have a real understanding of quality and this is evident in all of their beautifully appointed guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms and throughout the hotel. Lots of thought has been put into the experience guests will have here and everything comes together really nicely. The room are wonderfully designed and come complete with every possible amenity. The breakfast is delicious and the welcome and service we received from Jason, the owner was second to none. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Andrew,
So glad you had a nice stay at Swain House... I hope it was a good way to end your long weekend away! If you are ever back in the area you will both be most welcome. Hope to see you both soon.

Kind Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just back from a few days break at the lovely Swain House - we didn't want to leave! Jason has done a fantastic job in turning the old shop into a classy little B&B with a huge amount of attention to detail and great little touches. Coming back at the end of a day out walking you are spoilt for choice with a lovely roll top bath to soak in or the fantastic shower with lovely REN products. We decided not to head out for dinner one of the evenings and relaxed downstairs with a lovely bottle of red & the great chacuterie boards that Jason puts together would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hi Natalie,
I'm so glad you both had a good time at Swain House for your 3 day break. It means so much to us that you enjoyed stay and we hope you will come back to see us again... Then I can point you in the direction of a few more lovely costal walks and places to explore. Thank you for such a lovely review, see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiancée and I stayed on 10 Feb 14, and had a really lovely time. Jason couldn't have been more welcoming or attentive, and Swain House is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Couldn't recommend it more, especially the breakfast pancakes!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodo_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hi,
I'm so glad you had a good time... I hope everything went well at the wedding venue and your fiancée loved the place! Hopefully see you again in May and maybe you and some friends for your wedding in October... Have a great day!

Kind Regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a great little guest house, beautifully kitted out and the little extra touches that makes it stand out.
The rooms are equivalent to a 5 star hotel, but the service is warm and cosy. Jason does a great job on the breakfast and the base is excellent to. Is it the surrounding countryside.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KevinSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Kevin,
I'm so glad you both and a good time at Swain House despite the dreadful storms that came before Christmas! Still goos you could laugh about the zero visibility and sideways rain!

Thank you for such a great review and more importantly taking time out on Boxing day to write it!

Do come again, it would be lovely to see you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I really enjoyed our 2 nights at Swain House. The attention to detail was brilliant, the breakfasts were delicious, the beds were really comfy and the showers were really refreshing. We really can't fault it. Plus Jason was really friendly and also helpful in his suggestions of places to eat and drink and walk. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy1979Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Hi Katy,
Thanks you for such a lovely review... I'm glad you and Jon had a good weekend at Swain House... I hope if you did the walk we talked about you didn't get too wet as the skies just opened later on Sunday afternoon...

Come again it would be good to see you...

Best,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The room photos on the web site had me hooked! We hadn't planned to visit Watchet (although it is well worth visiting, very quaint) but on seeing the wall murals I knew I'd found our road trip stopover.
Mum and I were sharing so one room would have done, but in fact I booked two rooms because they looked so delightful. Actually mum shared with Charlotte Sophia, painted by Allan Ramsay who portrays her resplendent in richly textured robes of brocade and ermine and I shared with a beautiful young girl painted by Claude-Marie Dubufet. Both are sections of paintings hanging in the National Portrait Gallery in London.
Murals aside, there was not one thing we could have faulted about Swain House. Everything was beautifully presented, the attention to detail was superb - stylish, considered, crisp and clean. Breakfast was fabulous, some lovely art and design books to pore over if you have time and we enjoyed seeing the photos of all the renovation work Jason has undertaken to get this place up and running.
Your creative background certainly shines out Jason! Well done, we loved it!
Rae and Holly (Australia)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, Owner at Swain House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi Rae,
Thank you for such a lovely review... I hope you and your Mum had a great holiday, so glad you came and stayed at Swain House... All the best, Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The reviews are right. This boutique B&B is fabulous and the pictures don't do it justice. Clean, modern, great sized rooms, and everything has been thought of.....oh and the pancakes for breakfast are a must!! A great base to explore and relax. Highly recommended. Well done Jason.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 37 in Minehead
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Somerset Hotel
West Somerset Hotel
#10 of 14 in Watchet
28 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
171 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#6 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet TA23 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range: £153 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swain House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing