We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, clean, stylish :)”
Review of Swain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swain House
Ranked #3 of 14 Watchet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really nice b and b, very clean and very nicely decorated, stylish and deserving of the boutique name.

Big bath, big shower, just a shame was only there for the one night!

Comments to improve (which would make it outstanding) - bins in the bedroom would be handy, and as much as I really liked the big breakfast table, felt a bit "close" as we all were down at the same time, two would work better.

Apart from that, happily recommend this to anyone. We stayed in a front bedroom, didn't find it noisy but then had gone out for a beer or two at the Esplanade!

Now, all it needs is a restaurant ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Swain House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having visited Watchet many times over the past 10 years, what a relief it was to finally stay at the chintz-free Swain House. This is the only modern B&B in Watchet, i.e. offering stylish decor, warm, luxurious rooms, free wifi, and properly indulgent bathrooms. Indeed, the bathroom was definitely the highlight, with a free-standing roll-top bathtub, enormous walk-in powerful shower and Edwardian style elegant toilet and sink. My bed was also extremely comfortable. There's a blackout blind and it's very quiet at night.
The cooked vegetarian breakfast was very tasty and includes halloumi cheese, which is always a bonus! I would have liked to see more variety in the cereals, yoghurts, and other buffet items on offer, but then again I was the only guest that morning.
I wish I had had more time to hang out in the living room as it's very cosy, with papers and a digital music player/radio.
There is very little information provided in the room, so make the most of the free wifi to check the website, or ask the owner, Jason, for help.
Other little touches which would perfect this place would be natural bubble bath or bath oil to make the most of that bathtub, Pukka or Teapigs teas (herbal as well as fruit and black) in the room, hot chocolate option at breakfast, and a large cake of natural soap for the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

booked this boutique hotel because of the name, which just happens to be my surname, i wasn't dissappointed, this place is fabulous in every way, brilliantly designed rooms, super clean, breakfast superb, we were well looked after. Jason ( the owner ) was very helpful. can't say enough good things about The Swain House. Already looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came upon Swain House by chance but couldn't have been happier with our stay.
The accommodation is tasteful and absolutely spotless. Our bedroom was elegant but extremely comfortable and the en-suite was spacious and stylish.
Breakfast, including a vegetarian option, was cooked freshly to order by Jason whilst we relaxed at the communal dining table, chatting with the other guests.
Jason was the perfect host throughout our all too brief stay and we cannot recommend this boutique B&B too highly

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUTCHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic three-night stay at Swain House. Overall the accommodation is excellent and has been finished to a high standard with a close attention to detail and great sense of style.

The bathrooms had a touch of luxury with freestanding bath, monsoon shower and Ren toiletries. We stayed in Room 1 which was spacious and decorated with a fantastic fine art mural as you can see on the website. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linen and robes available.

Jason was an excellent host throughout our stay and has created a fabulous B&B. The breakfast at Swain House was a highlight from the full english to the apple pancakes. Jason was an excellent host with lots of ideas of places to eat and things to do.

You will not find a better place to stay in the local area so if you are thinking of booking do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in this fantastic B&B in November 2013 and the review is long overdue. We stayed in the bedroom at the front of the property over the street, it was very quiet.

As you can tell from the pictures the room was amazing and the bathroom was even better. The bath tub and walk-in shower were divine. Jason is a good host, offering various recommendations for places to eat in the evening. The breakfasts were also good, but be prepared to share a table with others. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the north Somerset/Devon coast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited here for a week away and it couldn't have been more perfect. Wonderful place to stay. Jason was the perfect host and gave us daily advice on places to go and what to see. He made our trip! The house is beautiful and the breakfasts delicious. Visit here to get away from it all, breathe in some fresh air and relax. Highly recommend a stay at Swain House.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Willow_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watchet
4.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
724 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Somerset Hotel
West Somerset Hotel
#9 of 14 in Watchet
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain House

Address: 48 Swain Street, Watchet TA23 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Price Range: £146 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swain House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain House is a luxury Boutique B&B in a recently restored Victorian shop and town house in the ancient harbour town of Watchet, Somerset. The house four expansive rooms designed for indulgent getaways, each has, a king size bed, with fine crisp white luxury cotton, high spec en-suite bathroom with a freestanding roll top slipper bath, walk in double tiled shower, piles of fluffy white towels, pure cotton waffle bathrobes and luxury toiletries by REN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Swain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain House Watchet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing