We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of room to sit down in here!”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Watchet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional family run pub, located approx 100yds away from the marina in Watchet. We serve a variety of local ales and cider, plus Carlsberg, Guinness and a good selection of wines. Our Guinness was quality approved by Diageo in April 2014 and we were named pub of the week in The Daily Telegraph guide to the best of British pubs" pint to pint"in October 2013, in April 2016 we were also named one of the top thirty pubs in the country by The Daily Telegraph. Food is served daily with freshly battered cod and chips a speciality, plus the new award winning selection of humble pies, and our homemade lasagnes, curries and chilli.Open all day from 12-00, food is served every lunchtime and evening, except for sunday and Tuesday evenings. We hope that everyone has an enjoyable experience whilst visiting us. We are happy to welcome dogs into the pub, they have even been known to have one of our locally produced sausages purchased for them, but would ask that they remain on a lead, under control of the owner and seated on the floor at all times, drinking water is provided for them in the courtyard garden.
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Quite a nice looking interior but suspiciously empty when we visited having found the (full) Star Inn was closing for the afternoon. Eventually got two indifferent cups of coffee out of the landlord who clearly thought the whole business of serving customers was well beneath him. Nice little courtyard out back for a smoke rather ruined by several extractors blasting into it. WC in the Gents has no working lock - all a bit 'Trainspotting' really. We were looking for somewhere to book an evening meal but obviously didn't feel we could put our 'host' to that much trouble!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
5  Thank roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

when the wife and I called in approx4pm sunday afternoon I was a bit dubious about the landlords attitude but after 2 pints I realised that he was sussing us out, we really enjoyed the rest of the day ,and thanks to SLIPPERS the pub local who chatted to us and also offered us a drink but unfortunately we had to leave. if you can take the banter like us <as we do as locals in wales> you will really enjoy this pub!!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank getawaygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a couple of meals which were very good, service was good, good atmosphere and great that you take the dog in as well, overall a good place to go

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SuzyT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I read through the previous review's on the Bell and yes I agree it is a good pub, We visited the pub several times it's clean and comfortable and yes the landlord could be a miserable sod! but to be fair he has a dry sense of humour and I can understand that he's not everyone's cup of tea.
Anyway the pub has a good selection of beer's and the history of the pub dates back to the 1600's.
We didn't try the food and they do not serve food on Sunday's there's a quiz night on Tuesday and open mike on Wednesday's if I was back in town in the future yes I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a quite spacious pub with plenty of seating. It's clean and well-kept. The bar staff were particularly good - friendly and helpful. There are free newspapers and - very happily - chocolate bars for sale at the bar!

There is only a small patio at the rear, but it is pleasant. The range of beers included one "secret" local ale, which, unfortunately, was on the turn. There was a reasonable wine list, and you could also buy individual small bottles of wine from a smaller range.

There was some traditional music being played when we visited, which imparted a very friendly atmosphere.

Thank Tisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Watchet, Somerset
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing